Subject Guides Libraries Eastern Kentucky University Skip to main content Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

Special Collections & Archives: Classes

Explore different types of materials found in Special Collections & Archives.

Select Your Class Below

How to Contribute to The Vintage View on tumblr

Finding Images

To find images in EKU Special Collections & Archives, use the Image Database, flickr, or the Milestone. You can also visit in person.

EKU Special Collections & Archives Image Database: http://ekuarchives.dctsoft.com/

  • Possible Search Terms: Fashion, Foster Music Camp, Student Life, Dance, Jimmy Taylor, Woman, Women, Dress
  • Filter by collection within search results if you wish
  • To use an image, right-click and "Save image as..."

EKU Special Collections & Archives on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ekuarchives/sets/

  • Browse by decade, collection, or subject
  • Click the image you want, then click "More Actions" (three dots) and "Download/All sizes"
  • Select an image with 500 or less pixels in width, then click "Download"

EKU Milestone

  • Browse EKU's yearbooks (covering 1922-1999, 2008-2010)
  • To use an image, right-click and "Save image as..."
  • The image you save will include the entire page, so you will have to crop as necessary

 

Using tumblr

The Vintage View: http://thevintageview.tumblr.com/

  • Click "Submit"
  • Select "Photo"
  • You must enter your name and email address (you can use your tumblr account if you prefer)
  • Insert the image you saved from the Image Database, flickr, or the Milestone
  • For your caption, include the image number or the Milestone year and page number
  • Include your class hashtag (i.e., #ADM210) and any relevant fashion hashtag. If you have other hashtags to add to the list, contact us.

Resources for Eastern Kentucky University Buildings

Buildings

To find a list of Eastern buildings visit the Discover EKU website. This site includes landmarks that are not necessarily classroom buildings as well as buildings that have been demolished. Some basic information is included for most buildings, including the art works that can be found in each building.

Images

Images of many of the buildings on campus can be found by searching the image database on the Special Collections and Archives homepage. To request images please complete the online duplication form. Scanned images can be copied to your flash drive or uploaded to Dropbox for use in the project.

Information

There are many sources for gathering information about EKU buildings. Some of these are online, but some of them must be used in the archives. There are online search tools for gaining access to archival resources.

Kentucky Resources

Find archival materials using the following Kentucky resources.

Other Resources

Find archival materials using the following regional and national resources.

Eastern Kentucky University

Buildings/Events/People

To find a list of buildings and landmarks visit the Discover EKU website. This site includes landmarks that are not necessarily classroom buildings as well as buildings that have been demolished. Some basic information is included for most buildings, including the art works that can be found in each building. This site also includes information on EKU presidents and the Board of Regents. There will be more content added in the future.

Images

Images of many of the buildings, people, subjects and events can be found by searching the image database on the Special Collections and Archives homepage. To request images please complete the online duplication form. Scanned images can be copied to your flash drive or shared on Dropbox for use in the project.

Information

There are many sources for gathering information about EKU buildings. Some of these are online, but some of them must be used in the archives. There are online search tools for gaining access to archival resources.

Resources for EKU People, Places, or Programs

There are many sources for gathering information about EKU people, places, or programs. Many of these are online, but some of them must be used in the Archives. Online search tools for gaining access to archival resources are below.

Resources

There are many sources for gathering information about individuals associated with EKU. Many of these are online, but some of them must be used in the archives. Online search tools for gaining access to archival resources are below.

Selected Individuals for Profiles

Mary Roark (First female president 1909-1910)
Leslie Anderson (First graduate in 1909)
Harvey Lee Yeary (1962 alumnus)
Bert Smith (played on the 1940 undefeated football team)
Roy Kidd (football coach, 300 wins)
Wally Chambers (1972 alumnus, played football for the Chicago Bears and Tampa Bay Buccaneers))
Jackie Humphrey (1988 Olympian)
Louisa Flook (1969 Miss Kentucky)
Bill Bryant (EKU alumnus, WKYT newscaster)
Earle Combs (EKU student, Regent, New York Yankees)
Jack Adams (1956 alumnus, professional basketball player, still holds EKU scoring record)
Thaksin Shinawatra (1970s alumnus, former prime minister of Thailand)
Steve Pence (1976 alumnus, former Lt. Governor of Kentucky)
Carl Hurley (alumnus and faculty member who became a comedian)
Homer Ledford (1954 alumnus, dulcimer maker/musician)
Eula Bingham (1951 alumna, served as Director of OSHA)
Sam Champion (1980s alumnus, weather anchor, broadcast host)
Tom Colbert (alumnus, first African American justice to the Oklahoma Supreme Court)
Andrew Miller (first African American student admitted to Eastern)
Anne Peyton Spann (the first African American admitted as an undergraduate in 1958)
Thomas Logsdon (1959 alumnus, flight mechanics engineer for Rockwell International)
Maude Gibson (art faculty hired in 1910 and retired in 1941. Gibson Building named for her)
Pearl Buchanan (theater faculty, the theater beside Keen Johnson is named for her)
Mary Francis McKinney Richards (1921 alumna, long time secretary of Eastern's alumni)
Lucille Derrick (1931 alumna, statistics faculty at the University of Illinois)
Clarence Gifford (1909 alumnus, Gifford Theatre in the Campbell Building is named after him)
Art Lund (1937 alumnus, became noted singer)
Hazel Warford (EKU custodian honored with a plaque in the Weaver Health Building)
Rodger Bingham (1969 alumnus who appeared in the reality show, Survivor)
Gary Stearns (1980s alumnus, stuntman)
Kara Stone (alumna, first female African American faculty)
James Way (first African American faculty)
Reginald Walters (alumnus, co-founder of the University Ensemble and renowned musician)
Eric Abercrumbie (alumnus, co-founder of the University Ensemble and faculty at University of Cincinnati)
Charles "Turkey" Hughes (winning baseball coach and athletic director)
Martha Mullins (women's athletic director, active in sports equity for women)
Smith Park (mathematics professor, observatory was named for him)
William Moore (alum, professor and Dean of Faculty. Moore Building is named after him)
Glen Presnell (played professional football before coaching at EKU)
James Wyatt "Spider" Thurman (alumnus, played on the 1940 undefeated team, director of Alumni Affairs, regent)
Tony Cox (alumnus, baseball player, teacher)
Mike Embry (alumnus, editor of Kentucky Monthly)
Hameed Koury (alumnus, local surgeon)
James Chenault (alumnus, attorney, judge)
Robert McKinney (alumnus, police officer, past Commissioner of the Department of Criminal Justice Training)
Jaleh Rezaie (alumna, faculty, administrator)
Charles Douglas Whitlock (alumnus, administrator, EKU President)
Ursel Boyd (long-time German professor, grew up in Germany during WWII)

Resources for Cynthia Resor's EMS 846 class

EMS 846: Social Studies Investigation

The following list is a sampling of collections that would have sufficient content to meet the requirements of the archives assignment. Make sure to view the finding aid through the link as many of these are multiple boxes and you should be prepared to ask for a specific box. A full list of collections can be found here and subject headings can also be used to access collections that include content for specific areas of interest. 

Loading

Questions? Just Ask!

EKU Special Collections & Archives's picture
EKU Special Collections & Archives
Contact:
Eastern Kentucky University
Special Collections & Archives
521 Lancaster Avenue
Library 126
Richmond, KY 40475
archives.eku.edu
859-622-1792
archives.library@eku.edu
Website / Blog Page