Subject Guides Libraries Eastern Kentucky University Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

Microfilm/Newspaper

COMPREHENSIVE

KENTUCKY

OTHER STATE PAPERS

The library receives the following newspaper in print.  Recent issues are found in Periodicals on the first floor of the library.

  • Albany Argus
    1813 - 1865
    (continued by: Albany Argus and Daily City Gazette)
  • American Statesman
    1811: July 20 - 1913: Nov. 27
    (continued by: American Statesman, and Columbian Register)
  • Apostolic Times
    1869: Apr. 15 - 1874
  • Atlanta Constitution
    1920 - 1940
  • Aurora General Advertiser
    1794 - 1812
  • Boston Daily Globe
    1920 - 1940
  • Boston Evening Transcript
    1848 - 1915
    (continued by: Boston Daily Evening Transcript)
  • Central Methodist
    1872: Apr. 13 - 1901: Mar. 7
  • Charleston Courier
    1806 - 1954
    (continued by: Charleston Daily Courier)
  • Chicago Tribune
    1921 - 1945
  • Christian Observer
    1867: Apr. 2 - 1872: Mar. 30
  • Christian Science Monitor
    1979 - 2002
  • Cincinnati Enquirer (Kentucky Edition)
    1904: Nov. 17 - 1940: Sept. 14
  • Citizen
    1899: June 21 - 1926
  • Cleveland Plain Dealer
    1914 - 1939
  • Courier Journal (index also available)
    1869: Mar. 7 - 1872
    1973: July - 1929: Apr. 15
    1929: Apr. 17 - 2006
  • Covington Journal
    1849 - 1876
  • Daily Louisville commercial
    1872:Apr.12
    filed as: Richmond, Kentucky Miscellaneous newspapers. Reel no.3
  • Daily National Intelligencer
    1920: Feb. 18 - 1856: July 31
  • Daily Paducah News
    1874:Dec.30 - 1875:Sept.18
  • Eastern Accent
    1978:Aug. 24 - 1979:May 7
  • Eastern Progess
    1922:Feb. - 2012:Aug. 26
  • Elizabethtown News
    1870:Dec.1
    filed as: Richmond, Kentucky Miscellaneous Newspapers. Reel no.3
  • Estill Eagle
    1892:June 23
    filed as: Richmond, Kentucky Miscellaneous Newspapers. Reel no.3
  • Houston Post
    1932:Feb.1 - 1943:May 31
  • Lexington Herald-Leader
    1983:Jan.3 - 2007:Jan.10
  • Licking Valley Register
    1841:July 27 - 1847:Nov.5
  • Los Angeles Times
    1987:Jan.1 - 2002
  • Louisville Daily Courier
    1851:Jan.1 - 1868:Nov.1
  • Madisonian
    1913, scattered issues
    filed as: Richmond, Kentucky Miscellaneous Newspapers Reel #3
  • Milwaukee Journal
    1921 - 1942:Oct. 15
  • Minneapolis Tribune
    1886:June4 - 1891:Jan.31
  • Missouri Republican
    1828:Aug.12 - 1829:Dec.29
  • New Orleans Times
    1895:May 6 - 1943:Jan.3
    titled: Daily Picayune and Times Picayune
  • New York Times
    1857:Sept.14 - 2006:Dec.31
  • Omaha World Herald
    1915:Oct. - 1942:Jan.
    (continues: Morning World Herald)
  • Owensboro Daily Tribune
    1896:Feb.4 - 1896:June30
  • Owensboro Examiner
    1875:Jan.1 - 1878:Dec.20
  • Owensboro Monitor
    1862:Aug.13 - 1875:Apr.4
  • Owensboro Weekly Messenger
    1880:Feb.6 - 1889:Feb.14
  • Paducah Daily News
    1875:Oct.18 - 1880:Dec.28, scattered issues
  • Philadelphia Inquirer
    1922:Oct.1 - 1939:Oct.15
    (continued by: Philadelphia inquirer public ledger)
  • Pittsburgh Courier
    1923:Jan.13 - 1975:Dec.27 
    (continued by: New Pittsburgh Courier)
  • Richmond Enquirer
    1804:May 9 - 1831:July22
    filed as: Richmond, Virginia Richmond Enquirer
    (continues: Enquirer)
  • Richmond Register
    1918:Jan.18 - 2012:Aug.
    (continues: Richmond Daily Register)
  • Sunday Times
    1895:Jan.6 - 2003
    filed as: Times, London. Sunday Times.
  • Times
    1788:Mar.18 - 2003
  • USA Today
    1987 - 1994
  • Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.)
    1968 - 1979
  • Wall Street Journal (Western ed.)
    1980 - 2006
  • Washington Post
    1994:Jan.1 - 2003
  • Western Monitor
    1814:Aug.3-1815:July 23
    1819:Jan.2-1819:Dec.28
    filed as: Lexington Western Monitor; 1819 is on separate reel
  • Women's Wear Daily
    1984 - 2002:June 
    2003:Jan. - 2005

The library has important microform collections of American and English publications from the 15th-19th centuries.

American Culture Series I and II contains American books and pamphlets from 1493-1875. These materials are basic sources for the study of the development of American civilization and culture. Series I (1493-1806) contains selected titles dealing with early American government, printing, belles letters, travel literature, historiography, the American Revolution, and the French and Indian War. Series II (1493-1875) major categories include history, literature and language, anthropology, sociology, art, archaeology, philosophy, psychology, religion, music, education, journalism, politics, law, military and naval history, science, and economics. Collections are indexed in American culture series, 1493-1875.

American Periodical Series: Eighteenth Century and American Periodical Series: 1800-1850 include virtually all significant periodicals published in colonial America and in the United States through 1850. Collections are indexed in American periodicals, 1741-1900 by Hoornstra and Heath.

Early British Periodicals Series I, II, and II offer nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through to the twentieth century​. Series I and II contains selected titles dealing with literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, the social sciences, and architecture. Series III extends the scope of the series by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century and contains titles dealing with news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire. Collections are indexed in

Loading

Get Help Now!

EKU Libraries
Contact:
859-622-6594
askus@eku.libanswers.com
Website / Blog Page