This is the "Background" page of the "ENG 102" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
LibGuides Banner: library building with solar flare Ask Us Hours EKU

ENG 102  Tags: english eng_102 english 102  

Find sources for your English 102 research paper.
Last update: Feb 08th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.eku.edu/english102  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries

 

Encyclopedias

 
 

Get Background Information

There are a variety of resources to help you find background information. Often called reference works, these resources can also help you determine the keywords to use in your search.

Dictionaries

Dictionaries can provide a quick definition and often some elaboration on the uses of unfamiliar terms. When you are doing research on a topic, you will often encounter unfamiliar terms or familiar phrases used in a specialized way.

Dictionaries may be general or cover specific subjects.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide the following:

  • an overview of the topic
  • ideas on how to narrow the topic
  • related terms and subjects which might be useful
  • bibliographies or lists of additional reading which will provide further information.

Many encyclopedia summaries can lead you quickly to key ideas and sources. Many encyclopedias include brief bibliographies, and these can help you get started finding books, articles, and Web resources.

Encyclopedias may be general or cover specific subjects.

Biographical Dictionaries

Some biographical dictionaries simply list essential facts about a person, while other sources present the facts in a narrative form using complete sentences. Some sources include a list of bibliographic references which could be used for finding additional information.

Almanacs

Almanacs contain a miscellany of information including: astronomical and meteorological data; statistics on countries, sports, and many other topics; lists of awards. They are an excellent place to find brief information on events of the recent, and not so recent, past.

Government Information

Government publications are particularly useful for finding statistics and other information on people, industry, natural resources, etc.


At the Library

The best place to go for a good dictionary, encyclopedia, biographical dictionary, almanac or goverment information is the Library.

On the Internet

Internet Resources
The Library maintains a page of Internet sources that link to Internet dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs and goverment information you might want to consult.

Internet Searching
You can also use a search engine to find a particular work. If you are looking for a dictionary, encyclopedia, or association, use that word, or its plural form, in your search. For example, to find a biology dictionary, type biology dictionaries

 
 

Ask US!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait