Resources for EKU History faculty and students.
- EKU Libraries Primary Source List
Find primary sources using EKU Libraries' resources!
- Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction Digital Edition
Features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. This collection of primary materials provides local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.
- Early American Imprints - Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Full-text of over 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. Provides information about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, such as agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, philosophy, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.
- Early American Imprints - Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Full-text of over 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides covering the political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States during 1801-1819.
- Victorian Popular Culture
Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A. Coverage: 1779-1930.
- Digital Public Library
The portal delivers millions of materials found in American archives, libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions to students, teachers, scholars, and the public. "Among the 2.4 million records available at launch, you will find gems that include daguerreotypes of former Presidents George Washington and Abraham Lincoln, images of women marching for the vote in Kentucky, news film clips of the Freedom Riders during the Civil Rights movement, The Book of Hours, an illuminated manuscript from 1514, Notes on the State of Virginia, written by Thomas Jefferson, and paintings by Winslow Homer,” said Emily Gore, DPLA Director for Content.
- Library of Congress, Digital Collections and Services
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.
Crabbe Library, 204K
Monday-Friday 8-4:30Send Email
Special Collections & Archives