About Us
Special Collections consists primarily of monographs and periodicals relating to Kentucky history and literature, to Appalachian studies, and to genealogy of the region. The collection also includes EKU faculty publications and rare and at-risk material, such as early imprints and fine arts publications.
Titles can be found by searching the library's catalog. Please note that these books must be used in University Archives since many are irreplaceable.
Materials Inventories
These inventories are to materials not cataloged in eQuest.
- Map Index
A searchable database with over 700 maps - Microfilm Holdings
A list of all microfilm held in Special Collections - Oral History Index
A list of oral history tapes in the collection
Find Books
New Titles
Recent additions to the Special Collections book collection and recent faculty publications.
- Castanea: The Journal of the Southern Appalachian Botanical Society - Ross C. Clark and Timothy J. Weckman
Call Number: QK162.C532008
ISBN/ISSN: 00087475
An annotated catalog and atlas of Kentucky woody plants generated from a survey of all known native and naturalized woody plants in Kentucky. Included for each taxon is a distribution map.
Conjoined Twins in Black and White: The Lives of Millie-Christine McKoy and Daisy and Violet Hilton - Linda Frost
Call Number: QM691.C662009
ISBN/ISSN: 0299230740
In this first collection of its kind, Millie-Christine McKoy, African American twins born in 1851, and Daisy and Violet Hilton, English twins born in 1908, speak for themselves through memoirs that help us understand what it is like to live physically joined to someone else.
Transcending the New Woman: Multiethnic Narratives in the Progressive Era - Charlotte J. Rich
Call Number: PS153.M56R552009
ISBN/ISSN: 0826218261
The dawn of the twentieth century saw the birth of the New Woman, a cultural and literary ideal that replaced Victorian expectations of domesticity with visions of social, political, and economic autonomy. This book is the first to focus solely on multiethnic women writers responses to the ideal of the New Woman in America.
Looking Westward: Poetry, Landscape, and Politics in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight - Ordelle G. Hill
Call Number: PR2065.G31H552009
ISBN/ISSN: 0874130492
Looking Westward" is a close study of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight from the perspective of the poetry, landscape, and politics of late thirteenth- and fourteenth-century Wales and the Welsh March.
1864: Lincoln at the Gates of History - Charles Bracelen Flood
Call Number: E457.45.F582009
ISBN/ISSN: 1416552286
Critically acclaimed historian Flood provides a brilliant, compelling account of Lincoln's dramatic final full year of life-a year in which the war finally turned in the Union's favor and Lincoln faced a tough battle for re-election.
Uneven Ground: Appalachia Since 1945 - Ronald Eller
Call Number: HN79.A127E552008
ISBN/ISSN: 0813125235
Uneven Ground makes important contributions to the fields of Appalachian history and the history of the United States anti-poverty public policy. A sweeping narrative that cuts across a half-century of economic, political, and environmental themes, this book provides a synthesis of scholarship and commentary concerning the politics of economic development directed toward the Southern mountains.
In the Light of Medieval Spain - Simon R. Doubleday and David Coleman
ISBN/ISSN: 1-4039-8389-5
If the idea of the medieval has been widely deployed in the colonial and neocolonial West as a marker of cultural backwardness, the Anglo-American perspective has often regarded Spain as part of a historically underdeveloped world and as a late-comer to Protestant/Enlightenment traditions of democracy, tolerance, and progress. Yet the many cultural dimensions of medieval Iberia make it pressingly relevant to current critiques of western modernity. This volume, which brings into dialogue historians and literary scholars in medieval and modern Iberian cultures, interrogates the contemporary significance of the distant Spanish past, particularly in regard to tensions in the relationship between the West and Islam. Rejecting an illusory space of neutrality, the search for relevance is envisioned as an ethically and politically necessary form of inquiry.
EKU Archives Web Pages
Hours
| Hours |
| Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CLOSED Saturdays, Sundays |
| Holiday Hours For holiday hours please check the Main Library website |
Research Tools
- Research Request Form
This form is required for EKU Archives research requests.
Visitor Parking
Visitor parking on campus is restricted and requires a parking permit. For information please call (859-622-1063) or visit the Parking Office web page.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait