Welcome!
This guide was created for students at the EKU Corbin Regional Campus. The Libraries have many services specifically for Distance and Online Students and Faculty.
Also see the Guide to Library services for Distance Education & Regional Campuses.
Get it Now!
If the database you're searching does not contain an online version of the article that you need, use the
button to locate a copy.
Get it Online: If the item is availalble online, a link will appear.
In Print: Click "Get it in print in the Library" to search the catalog. Fill out an article or book request form to have it delivered to you at the Corbin Center.
Please note deliveries are made on Wednesdays; items are typically delivered in a week, so please plan accordingly.
Did we not have it? If EKU owns neither an online or print copy of the item, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request. We'll get it from another library for you.
Please contact me if you are having difficulty locating resources. If I'm offliine, please chat with another librarian using the Ask Us IM box at the bottom of this column.
Cindi on Facebook
Let us know...
Search for Books and Journals at EKU
Search the Library Catalog (eQuest)
Jump to Advanced Search
Tips:
- On the Basic Search tab, use the "Keyword Search (beta)" search type.
- Add items of interest to your "Bookbag" to create a list.
- The Corbin Center has a small book collection, including the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition [Purdue's MLA 9th Guide].
- Click the "Distance Education Request" link to request that a book be sent to Corbin.
Search the MLA bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is the premier library database in which to find articles and books on literary topics.
Tips:
- Narrow your search results to "Academic Journals" or "Reviews" using the links on the left.
- Keep track of interesting citations as you search by using "Add to folder."
- Look for links "Cited References" - these are sources that were used to build the work you're viewing.
Search EKU and libraries around the world
Tips:
- Narrow your results to "Articles" or "Non-fiction."
- Create a free account to add interesting items to a list.
- Use the "Get More at EKU" link to see if an article is online.
- Use the "Interlibrary Loan Request" link if EKU does not own the item. (Tips for searching WorldCat from off-campus)
More Resources
- Literature Resources from Gale
Search here for secondary criticism, primary sources, biographical information, reviews and more. - Literature Criticism Online
- Arts & Humanities Search
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- JSTOR
A database of scholarly journals, the most recent few years of which will not be available here. - Project Muse
Online editions of scholarly journals. - America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. - Newsbank
Articles from more than 700 regional and regional newspapers, including many Kentucky Newspapers. - Women Writers Online
- Kentuckiana Digital Library
- Academic Search Premier
- View all databases for English and Literature
Also try...
Tips:
|
What is a citation?
A citation is the information that allows you to locate a book or article. In order to find the item, you'll need the complete citation.
For a book, this usually means knowing the author or editor name(s), title, and year; for an article, you'll need the article's title and author(s) as well as the name and date of the journal. Journal articles also require additional information to locate: look for the volume, issue number, and page numbers for your citation to be complete.
Literary criticism often appears in the form of book chapters. A book chapter is sort of a hybrid: it's a short essay that appears in a book rather than in an issue of a journal. You'll need the chapter's author and title as well as the book's title and editor name.
Examples:
Article: Waitt, Alden. "'A Good Story Takes a While': Appalachian Literature in the High School Classroom." Journal of Appalachian Studies 12.1 (Spring2006 2006): 79-101.
Book: Lang, John. Understanding Fred Chappell. Columbia, SC. University of South Carolina Press. 2001.
Book chapter: Cadle, Dean: "Man on Troublesome." In Olson, Ted; Olson, Kathy (eds.), James Still: Critical Essays on the Dean of Appalachian Literature. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2007.
|
|
Library Session Handout [PDF]
Did I forget...?
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait