Search Tips
A few tips to guide your searching
How do you turn your topic into a search? Look for keywords.
Examples:
* Topic: "Should marijuana be legalized?" Keywords: marijuana, law, legislation, pot, medicinal marijuan
* Topic: "Should birth control be taught in high schools?" Keywords: birth control, condoms, high school, abstinence, sex education
Did you get too many hits? Try narrowing your search by adding keywords.
Examples:
-
* Add Obama or McCain to a search for election to get fewer results.
* In Academic Search Premier, click a link under Narrow Results By to get fewer articles.
Did you get only a few hits? Try to broaden your search by using a synonym for your original keyword(s). Also try a more general term, or removing one or more keywords.
Examples:
-
* Do a search for death penalty in addition to captial punishment.
* Search for autism instead of autistic children.
Need Articles?
View our tutorial | All Databases by Title | All Databases by Subject
Finding Books @ EKU Libraries
Do You Need General Information?
Encyclopedias offer general information on a broad range of topics. You will find specialized encyclopedias linked on the appropriate LibGuide.
- Grolier Online
Includes the online Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge. Also includes several dictionaries, a thesaurus, an interactive world atlas, and resources for educators. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Dozens of ebook titles, including subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides to various subject disciplines. - Oxford Reference Online
More than 100 ebooks, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. - Europa World Plus
Need information about a country or region? Start here. - International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Gale Encyclopedia of Science
- Encyclopedia of Education
- Berkshire Encyclopedia
- Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
- Literature Resources from Gale
This database is a good place to start to get basic information about authors and works of literature.
EKU Libraries |
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait