This is the "Welcome" page of the "Emergency Medical Care" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
LibGuides banner EKU EKU Libraries Ask Us
Library resources for students studying emergency medical care.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.eku.edu/emergencymedicalcare Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Help? Ask Us!

chat usAsk your question via instant messaging! Use the widget on the right side of the page. Are we offline? Check hours or send your question via email

text usSend your question via TXT to 859-474-0358 (0EKU).

email usSend your question via email. Questions are answered within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.

visit usVisit us! View Campus Libraries & Collections

call usCall the Main library at (859) 622-6594 or (859) 622-1790.
 

Check These Out!

Cover Art
Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures - Pete Gregory; Ian Mursell
ISBN: 1405163550
Publication Date: 2010-02-08
I can enthusiastically recommend the "Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures" as the book that I wish had been available to me when I was studying to become a paramedic."From the foreword by Professor Malcolm Woollard, Chair, College of Paramedics; Professor in Pre-hospital and Emergency Care & Director, Pre-hospital, Emergency & Cardiovascular Care Applied Research Group, Coventry University"Clinical procedures are a fundamental aspect of care for practitioners working in pre-hospital settings. The "Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures" is written specifically to support the practice of paramedics, ambulance technicians, first responders and volunteer ambulance personnel. It presents up-to-date, evidence-based expert knowledge, enabling paramedics to deliver effective, patient-focused care. This accessible handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of core competencies and skills, looking at topics including Aseptic Technique, Airway Management, Assisted Ventilation, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Defibrillation and External Cardiac Pacing, Observations, Pain Assessment & Management, Respiratory Therapy, Spinal Management and Venepuncture. Each chapter provides the relevant anatomy & physiology, evidence-based rationales for each procedure, and contraindications of use. Key features: The first UK text to explore clinical procedures for paramedicsWith further reading and illustrations throughoutAll procedures include the rationale for the action recommendedGuides paramedics in the clinical application of evidence-based procedures

Cover Art
Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care - Val Nixon
ISBN: 0470656158
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care explores a range of contemporary relevant topics fundamental to professional practice. Written for both pre- and post-registration paramedic students, it is also ideal for existing practitioners looking to develop their CPD skills as well as nursing and other health professionals working in emergency and urgent care settings. Each chapter includes examples, practical exercises and clinical scenarios, helping the reader relate theory to practice and develop critical thinking skills Covers not only acute patient management but also a range of additional topics to provide a holistic approach to out-of-hospital care Completion of the material in the book can be used as evidence in professional portfolios as required by the Health and Care Professions Council Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care is a comprehensive, theoretical underpinning to professional practice at all levels of paramedic and out-of-hospital care.

Cover Art
Foundations for Paramedic Practice - Amanda Blaber
ISBN: 0335243878
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
The contents should resonate with all paramedic students as they develop their practice experience, try to make sense of their clinical activity and deal with the ambiguity that is daily paramedic work when responding to emergency calls. Additionally, this excellent book provides a framework for paramedic students as they start to consider their capability in important areas such as communication, managing situations and people, learning from experience and decision making. Andy Freeman-May, Senior Lecturer Paramedic Emergency Care, Oxford Brookes University, UK An essential text for new student paramedics discovering their professional identity and working towards registration and also for registered paramedic practitioners as part of their life long learning and continued professional development … Having an understanding of the subject matter within this book is of paramount importance for the paramedic practitioner of the future. Paul Bates, Higher Education Programme Manager, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust, UK This book covers areas of emergency care vital to the role of a paramedic, which are traditionally under-taught and often complex to understand. Blaber simplifies legal, ethical and moral issues faced by front line paramedics and also helps students to write constructive academic essays for those all important university assignments. A fantastic, well written book, which is well presented and full of useful references. Ruth Lambert, Registered Paramedic This enjoyable book is written in a language and a format which is easy to read and follow. The bitesized chapters feature a comprehensive reference list, enabling further research, and "stop and think" examples which encourage you to consider your own knowledge and experiences whilst reflecting on how theory fits with practice. The additional sections on Vulnerable Adults and End of Life Care are also invaluable. A must for both student and experienced paramedics. Emma Redwood, Registered Paramedic, East Midlands Ambulance Service, UK This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology. This expanded edition includes three new chapters on ‘Specialist development roles for the paramedic’, ‘Care of vulnerable adults’ and ‘End of life care’. The book also covers: Ethics and law for the paramedic Reflective practice and communication Professional issues, including clinical audit and governance and anti-discriminatory practice Psychological perspectives on health and ill health Safeguarding children Sociological perspective on health and ill health and social policy Managing change, decision making and leadership theory Foundations for Paramedic Practice, 2nd Editionis a core text for student paramedics and a valuable resource for students of the allied health professions. Written by a team of experts from across the UK, the book includes numerous links to practice, illuminating case studies and examples to encourage you to ‘stop and think’ and reflect upon your practice experience. Contributors: Amanda Blaber, Vince Clarke, Alison Cork, Steve Cowland, John Donaghy, Rachael Donohoe, Bob Fellows, Ann French, Graham Harris, Mary Larkin, Linda Nelson, Marion Richardson, Paul Street and Jackie Whitnell.

Save Time...Ask Me!

Profile Image
Nicole Masica Montgomery
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip