Subject Guides Libraries Eastern Kentucky University Skip to main content Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

Library Search FAQ: Home

Frequently Asked Questions About the New Library Search

Why did the library make this change?

What happened to the EBSCO databases?

What can I find in the new library search?

None of the books in my result list are here at EKU. Where did all the books go?

How do I renew books in the new library search?

I’m getting tons of articles and other stuff in the library search, but I only want to look at books. How do I search for books only?

What kind of expert searching can I do? Can I use Boolean operators?

How can I limit to just search for Government Documents?

What if the library does not have the book or article I need?

My syllabus has a link to something in the old catalog. How do I update it?

I also had the journal list bookmarked and now I can't find it. What happened to it?

I am getting a "This Webpage is Not Available" timeout message when I try to view a resource online. How can I fix this?

Can a librarian teach my students how to use the new library search?

 

Q. Why did the library make this change?

A. There are several reasons.

  1. The 21st century and its unspoken promise of access to all information (think Google) has raised our users' expectations of library searching. NO library can afford to buy all of the published academic books that you MIGHT need or subscribe to all available academic journals. We can, however, provide pretty immediate access to almost anything. Instead of having our users search only those things that we have already bought, we need to make everything discoverable and let our users request them as needed. This is called "patron driven acquisitions," and it is the best way to provide EKU students, faculty, and staff with what you need. With our new search tool, you can hit the "Request It" button on any item and we will either borrow or purchase the item and get it for you quickly.

  2. Our former library catalog did not allow us to display holdings for the vast amount of information that we are able to access in our subscribed databases - journal articles, eBooks, and other valuable research content was very hidden. This new search enables us to make this content more discoverable.

  3. The frustration of searching our former system led many students to just use Google to try to find resources for papers. Offering one search box to locate all types of print and electronic resources will make finding quality, scholarly resources a less daunting prospect, especially for new researchers such as undergraduates. And, advanced researchers will still have the option to go directly to their favorite databases to do their research.

 

Q. What happened to the EBSCO databases?

A. The new library search includes articles from journals in hundreds of databases, including the EBSCO databases. However, if you prefer to directly search a particular database, like Academic Search Complete or CINAHL, these are still available and are just one click away from the library home page:

LSFAQ2.png

At this page you can search for a database by title or use the dropdowns to view databases by subject, type, or vendor:

LSfaqDB.png

Q. What can I find in the new library search?

A. The new library search includes access to a wide variety of electronic and physical material, including articles (1.4 billion), books (310 million), e-books (16 million), archival materials (37 million), sound recordings (21 million), and more.

Q. None of the books in my result list are here at EKU. Where did all the books go?

A. If you aren't seeing any EKU Libraries books in your result list, try changing the sort from Best Match to Library near the top right of your results, to see only EKU Libraries materials, check the EKU Libraries near the top left of the page:

 

Q. How do I renew books in the new library search?

A. See the Renewing Books FAQ.

 

Q. I’m getting tons of articles and other stuff in the library search, but I only want to look at books. How do I search for books only?

A. It is easy to limit your search results to show only print and eBooks. On the left, under Format, click on the Book option to limit your search to only books.

LSfaqbook2.png

 

Q. What kind of expert searching can I do? Can I use Boolean operators?

Boolean searching features are available in the new search - see the chart below for examples. Proximity searching is not available at this time. Additionally, if you want to use specific discipline-based search strategies, your best bet will still be to search in the discipline specific database. For example, to find an article written by a nurse, you would search CINAHL, or to locate a play appropriate for high school students, you would search Play Index.

Operator

Description

A search for...

Will return results...

AND (uppercase),
or the plus sign
+

This is the default search operator. WorldCat searching uses the word "AND" or the plus sign to find all of the words typed in the search box.
Note: Any search for terms without an operator will return items with all the words.

guns germs steel
guns AND germs AND steel
guns + germs + steel

with all of the words entered in the search box: guns, germs, steel

OR (uppercase),
or the | symbol

The use of the word "OR", or the | symbol, will search for either of the words listed in the search box.

Paris or fashion
Paris | fashion

for any of the words entered in the search box:
Paris
OR
fashion

NOT (uppercase),
or the minus sign
-

The word "NOT" or the minus sign will exclude terms from your search.

Paris - fashion
Paris NOT fashion

for Paris but not fashion

quotation marks
" "

To search for an exact phrase, the search terms should be enclosed in quotation marks.

“The Grapes of Wrath”

where all words are located directly next to each other in the search results

parentheses
( )

Use parentheses to create more precise searches.

dog (walking OR feeding OR grooming)

dog walking
dog feeding 
dog grooming

 

Additional expert search options are described here.

Q. How can I limit to just search for Government Documents?

On the "Advanced Search" page, select the "GPO Monthly Catalog" database.

 

Q. What if the library does not have the book or article I need?

A. Use the blue Request Item button to request delivery (you will be prompted to log in to Library Express and the request form will be automatically filled in):

 

LSfaqBook.png

If you would like for the library to purchase a book, instead of just borrowing it, add a note to that effect in the Notes field near the bottom of the request page:

 

LSfaqPurchase.png

 

Q. My syllabus has a link to something in the old catalog. How do I update it?

 

A. You will need to find that title in the new catalog and copy the new link by using the "Sharing and permalink options" dropdown menu in the upper-right-hand corner of the record.

 

 

 

Q. I also had the journal list bookmarked and now I can't find it. What happened to it?

A. Our new system includes a new journal A-Z list to browse or search. Here is the link: https://eku.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles#journal

 

Q. I am getting a "This Webpage is Not Available" timeout message when I try to view a resource online. How can I fix this?

A. This is a known problem for faculty laptops accessing our resources from off campus and we cannot identify the cause. If you switch to the Firefox browser, you should be able to connect to our resources.

 

Q. Can a librarian teach my students how to use the new library search?

A. Yes, simply schedule a library instruction session and a librarian will teach your students how to use the new library search, and any other appropriate research tools, to find the sources they need.

 

 

Ask Us for Help!

EKU Libraries's picture
EKU Libraries
Contact:
859-622-6594
askus@eku.libanswers.com
Website / Blog Page