Books

      
     Search:
   

 
Worldcat Search Box

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>


 

 
Books at EKU

encore search:

 
 

 
Electronic Books

Below are only a few of the hundreds of

electronic books available through EKU Libraries.

To find more try Net Library,

the Gale Virtual Reference Library,

Praeger Security International Online

or eQuest.

 

Or, ask me!

  • Corporate safety compliance : OSHA, ethics, and the law - Thomas D. Schneid
    ISBN/ISSN: 1420066471
    Safety and health professionals face a variety of potential legal and ethical issues. As a result of changing responsibilities and new laws, professionals often find themselves in situations without guidance toward the solutions. This book provides such guidance to legal issues involving OSHA and how to avoid potential legal areas of liability if possible. Tackling safety and ethical issues head on, the text explores the area of criminal liability for individuals and corporations under the OSHA Act and state criminal codes. The author also gives methods to achieve and to maintain OSHA compliance, using specific case studies to illustrate ways to avoid or to minimize the impact of legal issues.

  • Disaster management and preparedness - Thomas D. Schneid and Larry R. Collins
    ISBN/ISSN: 156670524X
    This book addresses all the special considerations important in planning for disasters, from natural disasters to acts of terrorism to catastrophic events. It covers all aspects from assessing the risk prior to a disaster to the legal ramifications following a disaster. The text addresses the how-tos of avoiding the common mistakes which turn natural and man-made catastrophes into economic disasters. It encompasses not only the tried and true tactics used for decades but also focuses on areas often overlooked during the reactive and post disaster phases. Organizations can be prepared and proactive by using this guide to make a disaster management plan before disaster strikes.

  • Handbook of OSHA Construction Safety and Health - Charles D. Reese (Author), James Vernon Eidson (Author)
    ISBN/ISSN: 0849365465
    A practical guide for eliminating safety and health hazards from construction worksites, the Handbook of OSHA Construction Safety and Health addresses the occupational safety and health issues faced by those working in the construction industry. The book covers a vast range of issues including program development, safety and health program implementation, intervention and prevention of construction incidents, regulatory interpretations, understanding, and compliance, OSHA's expectations, health and safety hazards faced by those working in the construction industry, and sources of information. Highlighting contract liability and multi-employer sites, this second edition features updates for construction regulations, construction job audit, training requirements, and OSHA regulations. It includes new record-keeping guidelines and forms with additional material on focused inspections. Containing updated contact information for the newest agencies, the text also presents a model safety and health program, examples of accident analysis and prevention approaches, sample safety and health checklists, and more than 200 illustrations. Taking a comprehensive approach to construction safety and health, the authors address issues seldom discussed in the construction arena such as perceptions and motivation while also discussing issues gleaned from the safety and health disciplines such as the analyzing of incidents and accident prevention techniques. Including an in-depth discussion of regulations promulgated by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, the book lays the foundation upon which to build stronger safety and health initiatives, while intervening and preventing jobsite deaths, injuries, and illnesses.

  • Information Security: A Manager's Guide to Thwarting Data Thieves and Hackers (PSI Business Security) - Philip Alexander
    ISBN/ISSN: 0313345589
    Organizations with computer networks, Web sites, and employees carrying laptops and Blackberries face an array of security challenges. Among other things, they need to keep unauthorized people out of the network, thwart Web site hackers, and keep data safe from prying eyes or criminal hands. This book provides a high-level overview of these challenges and more. But it is not for the hard-core IT security engineer who works full time on networks. Instead, it is aimed at the nontechnical executive with responsibility for ensuring that information and assets stay safe and private. Written by a practicing information security officer, Philip Alexander, the book contains the latest information and arms readers with the knowledge they need to make better business decisions. Information Security: A Manager's Guide to Thwarting Data Thieves and Hackers covers the following technical issues in a nontechnical manner: -The concept of "defense in depth" -Network design -Business-continuity planning -Authentication and authorization -Providing security for your mobile work force -Hackers and the challenges they can present -Viruses, Trojans, and worms But it doesn't stop there. The book goes beyond the technical and covers highly important topics related to data security like outsourcing, contractual considerations with vendors, data privacy laws, and hiring practices. In short, Alexander gives the reader a 360-degree look at data security: What to be worried about; what to look for; the tradeoffs among cost, efficiency, and speed; what different technologies can and can't do; and how to make sure technical professionals are keeping their eyes on the right ball. Best of all, it conveys information in an understandable way, meaning managers won't need to rely solely on the IT people in their own company--who may speak an entirely different language and have entirely different concerns. Hackers and data thieves are getting smarter and bolder every day. Information Security is your first line of defense.

  • Practical Bomb Scene Investigation (Practical Aspects of Criminal and Forensic Investigations) - James T. Thurman
    ISBN/ISSN: 0849341981
    The illicit use of explosives has become a growing international concern. Those investigating the scenes of these bombings must do so expeditiously and effectively in order to locate any and all evidence among the rubble that can identify the culprits and bring them to justice. Written by an explosives expert with over thirty years in the field, Practical Bomb Scene Investigation is an accessible step-by-step guide through the postblast investigative process. It is the first single-source reference that not only provides essential information on locating and safeguarding evidence at the scene, but it also takes the investigator through all phases of the inquiry. This book uses case studies to promote an organized, methodical approach to investigations. It addresses safety issues such as military ordnance identification procedures and indicators of biological, chemical, and radiological material use. It also provides full color photographs of bomb scenes and related evidence. Practical Bomb Scene Investigation is an essential book for not only the explosion/bomb scene investigator and technician, but also for homeland security professionals, first responders, terrorism/intelligence analysts, military personnel, trainers, educators, criminalist and forensic scientists

  • PSI Handbook of Business Security - W. Timothy Coombs
    ISBN/ISSN: 0275993949
    In the most comprehensive, practical handbook on business security to date, security and subject-matter experts show how organizations can prevent or manage crises, protect employees overseas, control privacy issues, deal with natural disasters, keep electronic communication safe from prying eyes or malice, avoid workplace violence and acts of terror, assess risk, train employees in security issues, and manage dozens of other things prudent managers need to know to protect their organizations from the unthinkable. Two volumes cover everything necessary to keep people, infrastructure, and systems safer: Volume 1: Securing the Enterprise Volume 2: Securing People and Processes Covering all dimensions of security in the twenty-first century, the PSI Handbook of Business Security offers case examples, practical checklists/templates, sidebars, a glossary, resources, and primary documents--all designed to keep both employees and infrastructure safe when trouble strikes. And strike it will, making this essential reading for security experts, senior executives, line and HR managers, and anyone else with a corporate responsibility for infrastructure, processes, or other people. The PSI Handbook of Business Security covers current issues and practices in organizational safety and security, business continuity, and crisis management. Each chapter is written by an expert in the topic, and each provides a background explanation of the issue at hand, examples of innovative practices, and insights into current controversies and emerging trends. Emphasizing best practices across the private, public, non-profit, and institutional sectors--in the U.S. and internationally--the set also contains diagnostic aids, facts and figures, definitions, and illuminating case examples. Over the course of both volumes, readers will learn where businesses are most vulnerable, which technological innovations increase safety and security, how to deal with security issues in danger zones, how to use surveillance and other technology without crossing ethical or legal boundaries, how to fend off computer hackers, and how to provide psychological as well as physical security. If you're in business, you're at risk. The PSI Handbook of Business Security will serve as sturdy armor to protect people from the inevitable security challenges that come with doing business in a global economy.

  • Security and Loss Prevention - Philip Purpura
    ISBN/ISSN: 0750674377
    Timely topics such as school security, Internet and e-commerce security, as well as trends in the criminal justice system are presented in a well-written, thoughtful manner. A brand new Instructor's Manual accompanies this revision.

  • The Facility Manager's Emergency Preparedness Handbook - Bernard, T. Lewis (Author), Richard, P. Payant (Author)
    ISBN/ISSN: 0814473628
    "Facility managers have to be ready for anything: bomb threats, flooding, labor strikes, workplace violence -- the list goes on and on. Since 9/11, efforts toward emergency preparedness have increased substantially. The Facility Manager's Emergency Preparedness Handbook is a definitive reference on facility safety and emergency response planning and management. This timely and potentially life-saving book is filled with proven plans and tools for dealing with all potential problem areas. The book includes comprehensive instructions and checklists for categorizing potential emergencies, identifying the resources to be used, preparing, rehearsing, and testing plans, and establishing training. It is an essential resource for every facility manager."


 

 
Help with Excel


 

Books

Believe it or not, we still have books IN the library!

 

Click on one of the links below to see the

books, DVDs, and even electronic resources

we have on these

safety, security, and emergency management

related topics.


 
 

Save Time...Ask Me!

Nicole Masica Montgomery

Am I offline?

Please e-mail me or give me your e-mail address.

I can't follow-up with you if I don't know who you are!

Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
336 Stratton
859-622-1798
AIM/Yahoo/Google IM: nicolemontg
Skype: nicolemontg
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Guides

My Subjects:
Fire Safety and Engineering Technology, Criminal Justice, Corrections, Juvenile Justice, Homeland Security, Police Studies, Assets Protection, Emergency Medical Care, Safety Security and Emergency Management

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide

Description

  Loading content... please wait