Subject Guides Libraries Eastern Kentucky University Skip to main content Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

Library Tutorials: Using Specific Databases to Find Articles

Using Subject Specific Databases to Find Articles

Sometimes you may want to continue your searching or even start your searching in a subject specific database.  EKU Libraries subscribes to over 100 of them! 

Start at the EKU Libraries homepage and click on the DATABASES link: 

 

 

It will take you to an A-Z Databases list where you can find databases recommended by Subject, Types, or even Vendors/Providers. 

 

 

Most of the time you probably need to find a good database to use to search on your topic, right? So we recommended using the ALL SUBJECTS pull down to find your area.  You'll see that there are several listed: 

 

Let's say we are looking for articles in a criminal justice area for this example (and, remember, a librarian can always help you figure out where to search if you are not sure): 

 

 

 

The specific criminal justice page -- or any specific subject page -- will have lots of helpful information.  

 

First, there will be a list of databases at the very top of the page on the left with the BEST BETS databases.  These will be the databases that the subject specific librarian thinks you should almost always start searching first:

 

 

On the right you will see the expert librarian in that subject. Don't be afraid to ask them for help! 

 

 

Also on the right you will see subject specific research guides the expert librarian has created in that area.  Maybe there's a guide for your specific class or project?  

 

 

Ask Us

EKU Libraries
Contact:
859-622-6594
askus@eku.libanswers.com
Website / Blog Page