Skip to main content
Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

A-Z Databases

Use this guide to locate the best library databases for your research. To learn more, go to our Databases Help Guide

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
A clinical, differential diagnosis resource to provide rapid, reliable results directly for patients
"The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers."
Trial
Watch and listen to anatomist Dr. Robert Acland—Professor Emeritus of Surgery, University of Louisville School of Medicine—as he shows and explains anatomical movement within each region of the body covering bones, muscles, tendons, organs, and more.
"We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist them, on Monday, March 13th we will temporarily remove access control to our content until April 30th."
Trial
"The award-winning Arcadian Library Online enables easy exploration of the rich holdings of the Arcadian Library, revealing the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium. Images are displayed in high resolution, full colour and include bindings, clasps and page edges. Choose between an English or Arabic interface and search in either language."
A powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)—into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds.

Includes over 10 thousand species accounts, nearly 250 family accounts, and tens of thousands of multimedia materials
Trial
"Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Collections delivers online access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s award-winning Academic division. Spanning the arts, humanities and social sciences, the site features the latest research publications from Bloomsbury, T&T Clark, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing, alongside scholarship from historic imprints Continuum, Berg and Bristol Classical Press. New frontlist collections are added each year."
Trial
"Offering exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s ground-breaking Cultural Histories series alongside an extensive eBook collection and primary sources from leading global institutions, Bloomsbury Cultural History offers students and scholars a unique approach to this diverse field of study."
Trial
"The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers features critical biographies of individuals who have contributed to the history of intellectual thought."
Trial
Includes Berg Fashion Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Fairchild Book Library, and Fashion Photography Archive
"Winner of the Dartmouth Medal, Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more."

"Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases brings fashion business to life and creates a link between education and industry. Designed to help students develop the essential business skills required by the next generation of fashion industry professionals, this digital resource is global in focus and presents real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion, tackling important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership. "

"Offering everything a person needs to know to enter—and thrive—in the fashion industry, Fairchild Books Library provides content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more."

"Curated by Editor-in-Chief Valerie Steele, Director of the Museum at FIT in New York, this resource showcases more than 775,000 newly-digitized and high-quality images that feature forty years of contemporary fashion history along with a timeline, lesson plans, and videos to create a rich educational resource."
Trial
"In partnership with YOOX-NET-A-PORTER, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 spectacular fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability. "
Trial
"Providing an extensive collection of food content, Bloomsbury Food Library offers students, researchers, and scholars an unprecedented insight into this diverse field of study."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a global perspective on this rich field of study, bringing together high quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and object images in a one-stop digital resource that will open up the medieval world."
Trial
"Bloomsbury Popular Music is a unique source of scholarship and serious in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context."
"More than 30 leading STM publishers have committed to making all of their COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications immediately accessible. At Brill we have opened up books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research. If any new related content is published with us, it will be added to this collection."
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
Trial
"Published in October 2012 by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history."
Use Code BERLINPHIL
Trial
"The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides."
"As institutions transition to online instruction, we can provide 90 days of complimentary electronic access to our book and journal content to support your online courses."

They've also created a set of reading lists:
https://www.dukeupress.edu/Explore-Subjects/Syllabi
Thousands of ebooks dedicated to the study of business. Topics include:
Business ethics, Career development, Computers and technology, Economics entrepreneurship, Finance, Human resources, Industry and labor, Leadership and management, Marketing, advertising and public relations, Organizational psychology, Sales and selling
"This ground-breaking collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. Access to more than 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works and 150+ article compilations with foundational articles included in the HBR Classics series"
Trial
"In response to the COVID-19 crisis, Gale is making resources available for free. Here’s an overview of the resources we are opening up to our customers:

Gale: At the core of our support is a comprehensive online toolkit, with free access to:

· Resources: Interdisciplinary, curriculum aligned resources to support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate 

· Training: Live and on-demand training materials to help partners optimize their existing resources 

· Supporting Online Learning: Professional development eBooks to help those transitioning to and strengthening virtual learning 

· Expert Insights: Authoritative Gale resources to support research on health-related topics and global issues 

Soon, the site will also be updated with tools to help engage effectively across their community with promotional templates like emails and social media posts, and blog content they can share on related topics like working remotely, homeschooling and more. "
"HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases."
Trial
"Human Kinetics Library is dedicated to the research, teaching, and understanding of kinesiology, sport, and exercise science."
66 concise animated video lessons explain key concepts in Social Psychology. Another 25 "scientist-in-action" videos demonstrate classical and original research experiments performed in the laboratory.
New
A video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations. Chemistry collection includes:
General Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry
Organic Chemistry I + II
Inorganic Chemistry
Biochemistry
New
a comprehensive video guide for appropriate lab animal care and use. Since a majority of biomedical research is focused on studies involving rodents, it is critical that every scientist learns the essential procedures demonstrated in these videos.
Kahoot! is used by millions of teachers and educators around the world, and in these challenging times, we want to ensure they can continue to teach. While our free version enables distance learning, we want to make sure educators have all the tools they need to fully engage students outside of the classroom.

That’s why we’ve put together a guide to distance learning and why we’re providing schools affected by the coronavirus with free access to Kahoot! Premium for the remaining months of the academic year.
"The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease."
New
Fully indexed high quality scans of the Louisville Courier-Journal from 1830-2000
Trial
Online portal to clinical and educational content with multimedia ancillaries for teaching, learning, and practice
Trial
The second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008) along with new and substantially updated content. Over 19,000 articles written by more than 3,500 of the world authorities in all areas of music.
Trial
"Libraries can access the complete collection, with more than 2,500 eBooks and approximately 175 added each year, or subject-specific collections.

Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. "
A collection of eBooks that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
New
"All the news that's fit to print." Unlimited access to the United States' paper of record from 1980-present.

Users should first create a complimentary account using their EKU email address at this link: http://accessNYT.com and selecting Eastern Kentucky University from the drop down menu.
Mapping the college curriculum across more than 6 million syllabi. Does not post entire syllabi, but rather presents mapped aggregate data. Click on "Galaxy" to visually explore the most frequently assigned texts.
Trial
"An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies."
Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform. Updated list of participating publishers can be found here: https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/
"To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)"
Trial
"a continually expanding curated full-text collection that currently comprises 57 titles published from 1775 to the present. Its content spans various fields and subject areas of historical musicology, ethnomusicology and theory, with focus on topics ranging from popular music, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers."
Trial
RIPM Full Text Contain the RIPM Retrospective Index with Full Text and the North American and European Musical Periodicals Preservation Series.
Trial
RIPM Jazz Periodicals contains 105 jazz journals, covering the period from 1914 to 2006.
Trial
"Following our decision to make our relevantCOVID-19 content free to access, we have now decided to remove all access controls on our journals for the time being. We want to support our librarian and researcher communities, and understand that people may be working remotely for a long while. We do not want access issues to impede any work for our end-users during this tumultuous time."
Trial
"SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 5,100 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences. "
Trial
"Visual demonstrations are sometimes the best ways to learn new skills, and learning to conduct research is no exception. SAGE Research Methods Video provides hundreds of video titles showing research in action to help users build their skills as they prepare to conduct original research. Rather than reading about the best way to conduct a focus group, users can watch one in progress to see just how the facilitator interacts with participants. Those struggling to learn statistics can use the intro stats lessons to learn at their own pace, pausing and repeating the instruction until it clicks. From foundational academic skills perfect for first-year college students to the latest big data research, there is video for researchers at any level, and platform tools such as custom clips and embed codes make it easy for teaching faculty to incorporate video content into their courses."
Trial
"SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding. "
Trial
""Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies."
Trial
Trial
TumbleBooks is offering four additional databases to KYVL members as a courtesy through August 2020. The new resources include:

AudioBookCloud

RomanceBookCloud

TumbleBookLibrary and

TumbleMath
VitalSource® has joined leading publishers to help ensure students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic will have free access to quality digital learning materials through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester. Beginning March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf. Click here for a full list of publishers, but include APA, Cengage Learning, MacMillian Learning, Pearson Education, Wiley, and many more.
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...