Skip to main content
Home Page | EKU Libraries | Eastern Kentucky University

A-Z Databases

Use this guide to locate the best library databases for your research. To learn more, go to our Databases Help Guide

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
"The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers."
A powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)—into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds.

Includes over 10 thousand species accounts, nearly 250 family accounts, and tens of thousands of multimedia materials
"More than 30 leading STM publishers have committed to making all of their COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications immediately accessible. At Brill we have opened up books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research. If any new related content is published with us, it will be added to this collection."
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
Trial
"In order to help, De Gruyter and our Publisher Partners will offer digital access to the thousands of print books held in university and college libraries. We plan to make 75,000 DRM-free eBooks from ©1650 through ©2016 available on degruyter.com through June 30, 2020."
Use Code BERLINPHIL
"As institutions transition to online instruction, we can provide 90 days of complimentary electronic access to our book and journal content to support your online courses."

They've also created a set of reading lists:
https://www.dukeupress.edu/Explore-Subjects/Syllabi
Thousands of ebooks dedicated to the study of business. Topics include:
Business ethics, Career development, Computers and technology, Economics entrepreneurship, Finance, Human resources, Industry and labor, Leadership and management, Marketing, advertising and public relations, Organizational psychology, Sales and selling
Trial
"In response to the COVID-19 crisis, Gale is making resources available for free. Here’s an overview of the resources we are opening up to our customers:

Gale: At the core of our support is a comprehensive online toolkit, with free access to:

· Resources: Interdisciplinary, curriculum aligned resources to support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate 

· Training: Live and on-demand training materials to help partners optimize their existing resources 

· Supporting Online Learning: Professional development eBooks to help those transitioning to and strengthening virtual learning 

· Expert Insights: Authoritative Gale resources to support research on health-related topics and global issues 

Soon, the site will also be updated with tools to help engage effectively across their community with promotional templates like emails and social media posts, and blog content they can share on related topics like working remotely, homeschooling and more. "
Trial
"HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases."
Help your science students learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
Trial
"The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease."
New
Fully indexed high quality scans of the Louisville Courier-Journal from 1830-2000
New
"All the news that's fit to print." Unlimited access to the United States' paper of record from 1980-present.

Users should first create a complimentary account using their EKU email address at this link: http://accessNYT.com and selecting Eastern Kentucky University from the drop down menu.
Mapping the college curriculum across more than 6 million syllabi. Does not post entire syllabi, but rather presents mapped aggregate data. Click on "Galaxy" to visually explore the most frequently assigned texts.
Trial
"An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies."
Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results, by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform. Updated list of participating publishers can be found here: https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/
Trial
"Following our decision to make our relevantCOVID-19 content free to access, we have now decided to remove all access controls on our journals for the time being. We want to support our librarian and researcher communities, and understand that people may be working remotely for a long while. We do not want access issues to impede any work for our end-users during this tumultuous time."
"SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 5,100 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences. "
"Visual demonstrations are sometimes the best ways to learn new skills, and learning to conduct research is no exception. SAGE Research Methods Video provides hundreds of video titles showing research in action to help users build their skills as they prepare to conduct original research. Rather than reading about the best way to conduct a focus group, users can watch one in progress to see just how the facilitator interacts with participants. Those struggling to learn statistics can use the intro stats lessons to learn at their own pace, pausing and repeating the instruction until it clicks. From foundational academic skills perfect for first-year college students to the latest big data research, there is video for researchers at any level, and platform tools such as custom clips and embed codes make it easy for teaching faculty to incorporate video content into their courses."
"SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding. "
Trial
TumbleBooks is offering four additional databases to KYVL members as a courtesy through August 2020. The new resources include:

AudioBookCloud

RomanceBookCloud

TumbleBookLibrary and

TumbleMath
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...