Archives Instruction Request

Due to safety measures taken in response to COVID-19, we will be providing archives instruction remotely for this semester. Thank you for your understanding.

 

Archives Instruction Request Form

Please submit this form at least two (2) weeks in advance of your preferred date for class instruction or records management training. Complete a separate form for each instruction session.

 

Class Research Guides

Tutorials

Remote Instruction Options

Along with the rest of the Library, we will be providing instruction remotely due to COVID-19. Remote instruction options include the following: Live Online Session, Pre-Recorded Online Session, and Embedded Archivist in Blackboard.

 

For a Live Online Session, we will do our best to replicate an in-person class visit, but as you know there will be some differences. Instead of a physical tour, an introduction to Special Collections & Archives may involve Powerpoint and photographs. Instead of working with physical materials, active learning sessions may be built around a small selection of digital materials or a single digital collection. We may even need to completely change our approach to your class so that we can still meet your learning objectives.

 

It may make more sense, for example, to switch to the Embedded Archivist in Blackboard option. Embedded archivists can monitor the Ask Your Librarian Discussion Board and/or create archives training modules. The training modules can be supplemented with brief assignments that have students emulate what they learned and reflect on their process. Example training modules can be found in the Tutorials box on this page, and here is a link to a sample search and reflection assignment that has been used by the Library.
 

Handling Manuscripts

  1. Use the OUT Card
  2. Keep the Folder Flat
  3. Keep the Items In Order
  4. Turn Over the Items Like a Book Page
  5. Stack the Items Neatly

Tours

Types of Archives Instruction

General Archives Instruction

Oral History Instruction

Records Management Training

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University