EKU Libraries subscribes to thousands of online resources for EKU students, faculty, and staff, via databases that include eBooks, articles, streaming videos, and other types of content. Browse the A-Z list of Databases to see what we have (screenshot below).
TIP: You can narrow down databases by letter of the alphabet (A-Z list at the top), subject, database type, or vendor.
Need help? A great place to start for general help with our databases is EKU Libraries' Database Help guide.
Refer to the following EKU Libraries' FAQs when working with and in databases:
Look for the phrase Find Full Text when a full text PDF or HTML option is not readily available. The Find Full Text link will often "find" the article in full text in another database if it is not readily available in the database you are searching in. Or,if not available, it will allow you to request the title via Library Express (See image below.)
Don't forget about Google Scholar; it counts as a database, too!
When using Google Scholar, click the Find Full Text at EKU link on the right if a full text PDF or HTML option is not readily available. The Find Full Text at EKU link will usually lead you to the full text of the article as it is available in one of EKU Libraries' databases. (See image below.)
Refer to the following EKU Libraries' FAQs to learn more:
What is it?
A permalink or persistent link is a URL that is intended to remain unchanged and is less likely to stop working and lead to an error page. Permalinks or persistent links allow you to link to library-owned articles, e-books, and videos with Blackboard.
How do I use a permalink or persistent link in Blackboard?
The way in which you will link to a library resource in Blackboard depends on which platform the resource is located in. Generally, the address in the browser toolbar is NOT a persistent link, but rather a session link. For more detailed information on grabbing correct persistent links from various databases, please visit the full Permalinks guide.
For a comprehensive look at the different places permalinks can be located within different databases, please visit EKU Libraries' Permalinks guide.
Below are a few examples of where to find permalinks you can use in your Blackboard courses for:
NOTE: These examples are a small representation of the different places permalinks can be located within some databases and are only meant to serve as a snapshot of what to look for. If you're having trouble, please either consult the Permalinks guide, reach out to your library liaison, or contact the library through one of our Ask Us! services.
Alexander Street Academic Video
Click on Share then Copy Embed Code and use the code to embed the video directly into your Blackboard course shell.
If you need the permalink itself, copy the URL from the address bar.
The link should look like this:
Ebooks found in EBSCO databases
To get the persistent link for an article or ebook in an EBSCOhost database or the EDS library search, first click the "Permalink" link located in the Tools column, to the right of the record.
The persistent link will appear at the top of the record.
Articles in JSTOR
To get the persistent link for an article on JSTOR, select "URL with Proxy" on the left side of the page.
This is what the persistent link will look like:
Copyright is complex and complicated. Be sure to check out EKU Libraries' Copyright guide for an in-depth look at copyright and what you should be mindful of.
Have questions or would like some more guidance? Please contact Linda Sizemore at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Is it copyright infringement to reproduce music from YouTube for use in class?
What items can I use without having to obtain permission?
How much of a work can I copy?