Music & Theatre - Research Guide

A great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas and goes as far back as 1865.

A general knowledge English-language encyclopedia. A great place to start your research.

Finds scholarly resources on the web. If you are off campus and you use this link from the library website to get to Google Scholar, you will be able to take advantage of localized features such as "Find Full Text at EKU" to link to the full text of library purchased online articles.

Provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.

Search a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes indexing to over 66,000 books and articles. View MLA Tutorials

Coverage is 1851-2009, back to the first issue. Searchable, full text of every page. Full page and article images.

"All the news that's fit to print." Unlimited access to the United States' paper of record from 1980-present.

Users should first create a complimentary account using their EKU email address at this link: http://nytimes.com/passes and selecting Eastern Kentucky University from the drop down menu.

Compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera(1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002). More than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies.

Access limited to 1 user at a time.

Scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.

Current coverage of the nation's leading newspapers including The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

A comprehensive music bibliography providing broad yet detailed coverage of music literature.