Group 1

Using Web of Science and one of the other recommended databases, work with your group to find two peer-reviewed references that you think answer the following:

Based on health records, is there a sexual difference in dental caries prevalence in Kentucky, Appalachia, or the United States?

Be prepared to discuss:

  1. The search terms you used (be specific)
  2. How you changed your search to get better results
  3. How you tracked down the full text of the two references

 

Group 2

Using Web of Science and one of the other recommended databases, work with your group to find two peer-reviewed references that you think address the following:

Describe one cultural reason that dental anthropologists have used to explain why females may have a higher prevalence for dental caries.

Be prepared to discuss:

  1. The search terms you used (be specific)
  2. How you changed your search to get better results
  3. How you tracked down the full text of the two references

Group 3

Using Web of Science and one of the other recommended databases, work with your group to find two peer-reviewed references that you think answer the following question:

Describe one biological/physiological reason that dental anthropologists have used to explain why females may have a higher prevalence for dental caries​.

Be prepared to discuss:

  1. The search terms you used (be specific)
  2. How you changed your search to get better results
  3. How you tracked down the full text of the two references

Group 4

Using Web of Science and one of the other recommended databases, work with your group to find two peer-reviewed references that you think address the following:

Based on research in one species of wild nonhuman primate (e.g., lemur, loris, tarsier, monkey, guenon, langur, gibbon, ape, gorilla, chimpanzee, bonobo, orangutan), describe whether sex differences in dental health (either in dental caries, or in the presence of carious lesions) occur in a nonhuman primate. 

Be prepared to discuss:

  1. The search terms you used (be specific)
  2. How you changed your search to get better results
  3. How you tracked down the full text of the two references

Group 5

Using Web of Science and one of the other recommended databases, work with your group to find two peer-reviewed references that you think address the following:

Describe what researchers have observed as to the prevalence of dental caries in one American archaeological population.

Be prepared to discuss:

  1. The search terms you used (be specific)
  2. How you changed your search to get better results
  3. How you tracked down the full text of the two references

Google Scholar Cheat Sheet

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University