Research Guides: Research Resources for Biology: Biology Resources

Looking for BIO resources? Start in our Biology Databases!

BioOne
Journal articles in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Birds of the World
Articles, images, and videos from works of ornithology, including Birds of North America, Neotropical Birds, Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, and Bird Families of the World.
GreenFILE
Academic, government, and general interest sources on environmental topics, including global warning, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 2,650 peer-reviewed journals and 42,000 e-books, including books, book series and major reference works, and digital archives that reach as far back as 1823 to help users discover more science, use their time efficiently and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Help Searching ScienceDirect:
https://service-elsevier-com.libproxy.eku.edu/app/answers/list/c/10545/supporthub/sciencedirect/

Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)
Finds regions of similarity between biological sequences and compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
Anatomical Illustrations (OER)
European Journal of Taxonomy
EJT is a fully refereed, international, fully electronic Open Access journal in descriptive taxonomy, covering subjects in zoology, entomology, botany (in its broadest sense), and paleontology.
Famous Scientists' Biographical Memoirs
The Online Collection includes approximately 1,900 memoirs, including those of famed naturalist Louis Agassiz; Joseph Henry, the first secretary of the Smithsonian Institution; Thomas Edison; Alexander Graham Bell; noted anthropologist Margaret Mead; and psychologist and philosopher John Dewey.
Friesner Herbarium Digital Collection
Contains more than 45,000 images of plant specimens, collected primarily throughout Indiana from the Butler University Friesner Herbarium. At this point, more than 2900 species are covered in this collection.