Skip to main content

Archives After Dark Resource Guide

A guide for participants preparing for Archives After Dark

What Is Archives After Dark?

Archives After Dark

One Archives Item -- One Creative Product -- One Great Night

Description:
On Friday, January 24th, 2020, a group of no more than 20 student authors/creators will convene in the John Grant Crabbe Library to be inspired by items in Special Collections & Archives. Students will gather in the Noel Studio, where they will spend the night writing, creating, and polishing their works. The resulting creative works will be collected and published digitally and in print, and the authors/creators recognized during Scholars Week 2020.

Date and Time Commitments:

  • We will offer an optional pre-event to tour Special Collections & Archives and view potential items on Thursday, December 5th, 2019, 5pm-6pm.
  • Friday, January 24th, 2020, 7pm-7am in the John Grant Crabbe Library (yes, that's right, spend the night in the Crabbe Library).
  • A mandatory student debriefing will take place on Thursday, January 30th, 2020, 5pm-6pm.
  • A post-event one-on-one meeting with a Noel Studio consultant is required to initiate the editing process that will fully prepare the work for publication. The date will be determined by the participant and consultant.

Selection Process:
Current EKU students enrolled for Spring 2020 are invited to apply by completing and submitting this application form between October 7, 2019-November 7, 2019. Past participants may apply, but priority will be given to new applicants. The application can be revisited and edited until the deadline. You are required to use your EKU student email to create a Google account; just click "Sign In."

Applications will be reviewed by the Archives After Dark Committee, who will extend an invitation to the selected students by November 25, 2019. 

Questions?
Contact Special Collections & Archives: 859-622-1792 or archives.library@eku.edu

 

**We are not currently accepting applications.

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University