Justice Studies Research Guide

Collection of documents and photos focused on the Berlin Airlift. Covers the years 1948-1952.

Offers many types of primary sources related to the Cold War, with dates covering 1945-1990.

Documents the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during Cold War nuclear testing. Transcripts, selected audio and video, photographs and images.

Over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials: documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps and collection finding aids.

"The mission of the OHP is to create and preserve a more complete record of the wars in Southeast Asia by preserving, through recorded interviews, the recollections and experiences of all who were involved in those wars."

Contains over 1.5 million pages of materials, including documents, photographs, slides, negatives, audio and moving image recordings, artifacts and oral histories. New items added daily.

Consists of 59 sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding WWI and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.

This archive brings together material contributed by the public, national library collections, and film archives to offer a unique perspective of the First World War, showing it from every side of the battle lines and with insights from every point of view.

A collection of primary documents that mark the course of the war. Included are archive documents signed in the late 1830s which bore relevance to the outbreak of war some 75 years later, as well as memos, letters, treaties and the text of speeches throughout the war and beyond.

The League of Nations was established after WWI to promote international co-operation and to achieve international peace and security. This collection includes photos of individuals and groups associated with the League.

This collection contains the full text of 260 League of Nations document, with a focus on three areas: the founding of the League, international statistics published by the League, and the League's work toward international disarmament.

The site features a collection of war-themed postal cards produced during World War 1 (1914-1919).

The newspaper's mission was to provide scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort. Date coverage is February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.

Posters from government, commercial and charitable organizations. Subject matter is diverse, covering such topics as military recruitment, rationing, films/theatre, anti-war movements and many others.

"Provides a sampling of UW-Madison's World War I Special Collection...Most of these materials were acquired by the University during or in the immediate aftermath of the war and they represent a direct and often very passionate or partisan viewpoint of that conflict."

Contains full text, images, biographies, personal reminiscences and links to other web resources.

Features a collection of war-themed cards produced in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during World War One (1914-1918).

"Man-on-the-street" reactions of ordinary Americans to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the subsequent declaration of war by the United States.

Comprehensive collection of declassified U.S. government documents on the atomic bomb and the end of the war in the Pacific.

"This collection focuses on The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb. It includes documents totaling almost 600 pages, covering the years 1945-1964."

This collection consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). Selections from the collection are available online.

Four hundred political cartoons from 1941-1943, when Dr. Seuss was the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM.

Presents informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.

Access to about 1 million pages of documents (trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers) relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany. Documents are in German and English.

Collected here are documents from the 23 volume, 40 part, 25,000 page report of "Hearings before the Joint Committee on the Investigation of the Pearl Harbor Attack, Congress of the United States" which was released July 20, 1946.

Collection of over 300 posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies from the onset of war through 1945.

Collection of documents, speeches, photographs and other primary source material.

Created by a group of U.S. government photographers, these images show Americans in every part of the nation. Early years emphasize rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. Later years focus on the mobilization effort for World War II.

A broad collection of the most significant documents of the presidency. Search here for public papers, State of the Union addresses, inaugural addresses, press conferences, executive orders, proclamations, signing statements, debates, convention speeches, and much more.

Personal and professional materials of Benjamin and Julia Rush, from 1766-1845, focusing on medical concerns, especially the 1793 yellow fever epidemic in Philadelphia.

These materials include digitized copies of books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts—a total of more than 500,000 pages—many of which contain visual materials, such as plates, engravings, maps, charts, broadsides, and other illustrations. The collection also includes two unique sets of visual materials from the Center for the History of Medicine at Harvard’s Francis A. Countway Library of Medicine.

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States

Collection of selected historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.

Advertisements created by the J. Walter Thompson advertising agency for Ford Motor Company’s lines of consumer and commercial vehicles, tractors, auto parts, and dealerships.

Consists of 75 Russian posters, documenting almost 60 years of Communist political advertising (1920s-1980s). Read More »