Counseling Center Reading Room Collection: eBooks

This accessible book comprises a collection of 80 tried-and-tested exercises, with guidelines for applying them and advice for devising new ones. Liesl Silverstone offers a variety of exercises for a diverse and multicultural client base, such as guided fantasies, one-to-one and group work focusing on the group dynamic, and some examples of working with adults with learning difficulties and children.

Includes suggestions and plans that are easily implemented: from brief warm-ups to stretch the imagination, and collage and mask creations to assist the expression of mood, to guidance on combining modalities such as art, metaphors and movement, mindfulness exercises, and using computer programs to enhance art therapy projects.

This accessible guide for clinicians and clinical students working in the fields of eating disorders and transgender health psychology offers useful tips, constructive case studies and reflective questions that enable readers to feel better equipped in supporting their clients' needs.

The third edition of this book is an updated and expanded presentation of the widely used Integrative Developmental Model of Supervision. In contrast to other volumes on clinical supervision, Stoltenberg and McNeill present a comprehensive, time-tested, and empirically investigated model of supervision, rather than a broad summary of other existing or historical approaches.

ACT is a proven-effective treatment for numerous mental health issues, including depression, anxiety, stress, addictions, eating disorders, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder, and more. With important revisions based on new developments in contextual behavioral science, Learning ACT, Second Edition includes up-to-date exercises and references, as well as material on traditional, evidence-based behavioral techniques for use within the ACT framework.

The Overcoming Insomnia treatment program uses evidence-based cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) methods to correct poor sleep habits. CBT has been proven in multiple studies to improve sleep by reducing time spent in bed before sleep onset, reducing time spent awake after first sleep onset, and increasing the quality and efficiency of sleep.

Based on over twenty years of research, radically open dialectical behavior therapy (RO DBT) is a breakthrough, transdiagnostic approach for helping people suffering from extremely difficult-to-treat emotional overcontrol (OC) disorders, such as anorexia nervosa, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), and treatment-resistant depression.

The latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

From renowned ADHD researcher/clinician Russell A. Barkley, this is the book for you. Dr. Barkley takes you through the process of seeking professional help, addresses frequently asked questions about medications and other treatments, and offers a wealth of advice and tips--all science-based.

Using the most current research and her approachable style, Dr. Rosier shows those with ADHD and their families how to create new thinking habits, identify unhelpful thought and emotional patterns, and apply strategies to change them.

A classic in its field and recommended by therapists worldwide, this evidence-based workbook contains the latest clinical research. You'll find an arsenal of tools for quieting worry, ending negative self-talk, and taking charge of your anxious thoughts.

Starving the Anxiety Gremlin is a unique and award-winning resource to help young people understand different types of anxiety and how to manage them, including panic attacks, phobias, social anxiety, generalized anxiety and obsessive compulsive disorder.

For young people with ASD, navigating leaving home, parties, and the first sexual encounters of their twenties can be tricky. This practical guide is full of tips for how to stay safe while making the most out of life and it includes advice on socializing, relationships, online safety, looking after your health, and more.

Bipolar disorder is a lifelong challenge, but it doesn't have to rule your life. Step-by-step exercises (you can download and print additional copies of the forms as needed) give you greater insight into your own triggers, vulnerabilities, and strengths. You'll also learn key strategies for managing stress, making healthy decisions, and solving problems.

This empathetic handbook has been created for people affected by any form of disordered eating. Thoughtfully compiled by experienced authors, it will be a comprehensive guide through every stage of your recovery, from recognising and understanding your disorder and learning fully about treatment, to self-help tools and practical advice for maintaining recovery and looking to the future.

Grounded in evidence-based acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), this workbook will give you the tools to identify and dismiss your core beliefs of personal defectiveness, and build a life based on positive choices and values that bring vitality and a sense of personal fulfillment.

Research has emerged showing the effectiveness of a treatment model for pain management grounded in biology, psychology, and social functioning. This workbook includes a comprehensive outline of this effective biopsychosocial approach, as well as scientifically supported interventions rooted in cognitive- behavioral therapy (CBT), mindfulness, and neuroscience for pain management.

Whether you have the urge to address clutter that's right in front of you, like your kitchen, or clutter that's more abstract, like the benefits program at your workplace, this book can help you figure out how all of it is related, and what steps you can take to work on them.

Get ready to take a different perspective on your problems and your life--and the way you live it. Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is a new, scientifically based psychotherapy that takes a fresh look at why we suffer and even what it means to be mentally healthy. What if pain were a normal, unavoidable part of the human condition, but avoiding or trying to control painful experience were the cause of suffering and long-term problems that can devastate your quality of life?

Combines evidence-based acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) with exposure and response prevention (ERP) for the most up-to-date, effective treatment for obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)..

Combining mindfulness practices with cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), this workbook includes meditations, information, and chapters on emotional and mental contamination, existential obsessions, false memories, and more.

In this evidence-based resource, three renowned experts and clinicians offer powerful CBT skills to help you move past BFRB. You'll learn why you engage in these behaviors, and how to identify your own sensory "triggers"--places, things, or experiences that cause your behavior to become worse, and strategies for overcoming them.

Drawing on the sociological theories of Emile Durkheim, College Belonging shows that belonging is something that members of a community offer to each other. It is something that must be given, like a gift. It happens by making a person feel welcome, to feel that their presence matters to the group, that they would be missed if they were gone.

Grounded in evidence-based mindfulness, The Mindful College Student will help you cultivate the cognitive and emotional skills you need to increase well-being and reach your highest aspirations. You'll also learn positive coping strategies for dealing with stress, sadness, and anxiety--including diet, fitness, and sleep habits. Most importantly, you'll discover three core self-regulation skills to help steer you toward the life you want: self-awareness, attention control, and emotion regulation.

Student life can be overwhelming, and it is not surprising that you might struggle to cope sometimes. This book guides you through your student journey with simple and effective strategies to help you take ownership of your mental health and stay in control.

If you have experienced the death of a loved one from suicide, this book is for you. With contributions of many people who have been through the experience and two Psychologists who have helped hundreds of people bereaved by suicide, this book takes the reader through the first few days, weeks, months and years.

If you or someone you love is dealing with a crisis right now, please call 1-800-273-8255 to reach the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. You can also text HOME to 741741 to reach a crisis counselor at the Crisis Text Line. Grounded in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this compassionate workbook offers practical tools to guide you toward a place of hope.

Presenting the idea of wilderness as a sustained metaphor for grief, this compassionate guide explores the unique responses inherent to the grief felt by those who have experienced the suicide of a loved one and offers information about coping with such a profound loss. Each touchstone gently guides readers through the entire grieving process and includes topics such as dispelling misconceptions regarding suicide, exploring feelings, and embracing the uniqueness of a loss.

Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world's foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In the Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers' capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust.

Every day millions of people struggle with psychological and emotional problems. The Stressed Sex sets out to answer a simple, but crucial, question: are rates of psychological disorder different for men and women?

Over the course of several centuries, Western masculinity has successfully established itself as the voice of reason, knowledge, and sanity - he basis for patriarchal rule - in the face of massive testimony to the contrary. This book boldly challenges this triumphant vision of the stable and secure male by examining the central role played by modern science and medicine in constructing and sustaining it.

This volume covers a wide range of topics and issues that relate to men and depression, including: assessment of male depression; statistics on depression in men; theories to explain depression in men; treating depression in men with both pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy; the interrelation of grief, loss, trauma, and depression in men; the problem of suicide and how to assess and treat suicide risk in men; and prospects for future work in this important area.

The first book length study to focus on the lives and experiences of single mothers who are college students, Mothering by Degrees points out how these women are influenced by dominant American ideologies of motherhood, and the institutional parameters of the schools they attend, and argues for increased attention to the specific ways in which the choices, challenges, and opportunities available to mothers are shaped within their specific environments, as well as the ways in which mothers help shape those environments

Problematising 'who' is recognised in widening participation and equalities policy, Samuel Dent presents an Institutional Ethnographic study, involving 16 students at a research-intensive UK University, and collected over two years, to gain further insight into the institutional experiences of students who care for children while studying

This book presents the latest in neuroscience and resiliency research alongside the personal stories of military veterans to advocate for an empirically validated training protocol.

The Costs of Courage is one of the very few comprehensive volumes that shed a light on the needs of US military personnel and their families. The authors introduce social workers and other helping professionals to the dynamic warrior culture of the US military and their families and provides practitioners with the cultural competence necessary to successfully interact with members of this culture. This book includes best practices and eclectic approaches that encourage social workers and other mental health professionals to better consider the needs of our military and their families.

This book examines suicide prevention efforts of the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) with a focus on suicide surveillance; suicide risk and protective factors; and suicide prevention interventions.

In the face of mounting public concern over post-deployment health care issues confronting OEF/OIF veterans, several task forces, independent review groups, and a Presidential Commission have been convened to examine the care of the war wounded and make recommendations. Concerns have been most recently centered on two combat-related injuries in particular: post-traumatic stress disorder and traumatic brain injury. With the increasing incidence of suicide and suicide attempts among returning veterans, concern about depression is also on the rise.

This guide seeks to aid our troubled, returning forces by dissecting the numerous mental health problems they face upon arriving stateside. The authors detail not only each issue's symptoms, but also discuss what treatments are available, and the best ways for veterans to access those treatments while readjusting to civilian life. In addition, the authors connect and explain many alarming trends, such as joblessness, poverty, and addiction, appearing in our nation's veteran population on a broader scale.

Because suicide prevention is a priority of the Veterans Health Administration, the VA wishes to expand and enhance use of evidence-based prevention or reduction methods. What are the new or improved suicide prevention strategies (e.g. hotlines, outreach programs, peer counseling, treatment coordination programs, and new counseling approaches) that show promise for Veterans? What solid evidence base supports the most promising strategies? What evidence is still needed to establish various strategies as the most promising (framed as research questions to guide and focus continued research to expand knowledge regarding the effectiveness of suicide prevention approaches)?