Social Work Research Guide

This guide contains materials and resources designed to aid Social Work students in their course work and research assignments.

Need Help?

Overwhelmed?  Not sure where to start?  Go to the ASK Us page to get help.  There are a variety of ways you can obtain assistance. 

Of course, you are always welcome to contact Brad Marcum.  Brad is the Social Work librarian and can be reached at 859 622 1801 or brad.marcum@eku.edu

How to Find an Article

Much of the time you will need scholarly journal articles for your research. If you're just getting started and need to find articles on a particular topic, you will need to start your search in an article database, such as those listed below.

If you are looking for a particular journal title, browse or search the Journals List.

If you already have citation information (author, journal title, volume, issue, etc.) to a particular article, you can enter the information into the Citation Linker to locate the article.

Recommended Databases

Social Work is an interdisciplinary field, so you may find yourself researching in a wide range subject areas. These databases all contain articles relating to Social Work and are the best place to start your research.

  • Academic Search Ultimate
    A great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas and goes as far back as 1865.
  • JSTOR
    Includes extensive online journal backfiles for a wide range of disciplines.
  • APA PsycINFO  A comprehensive, international database covering the academic, research and practice literature in over 1,900 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications.
  • PsycARTICLES
    Includes full text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, including those relating to Social Work topic
  • Sociological Collection  Index to specialized collection of journal articles in sociology and culture.
  • SocINDEX with Fulltext
    The world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Includes over 10,000 author profiles.
  • Social Work Abstracts  
    Provides abstracts for more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977.

Social Work Librarian

Profile Photo
Brad Marcum
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
brad.marcum@eku.edu
859 622 1801
Subjects: Social Work