Special Collections & Archives

Hours

Open by appointment only, Monday-Friday, 8:30am-4:00pm.

  • Appointments for Monday must be made at least 72 hours in advance.
  • Appointments for Tuesday-Friday must be made at least 24 hours in advance.
  • For details, see In-Person Visits.

Questions? Just ask!

EKU Special Collections & Archives's picture
EKU Special Collections & Archives
Contact:
Eastern Kentucky University
Special Collections & Archives
521 Lancaster Avenue
Library 126
Richmond, KY 40475
archives.eku.edu
859-622-1792
archives.library@eku.edu
Website

Mission

EKU Special Collections & Archives supports the research needs and enhanced knowledge of our community through the preservation and accessibility of selected historical resources.

Collections

Manuscript Collections
Manuscript Collections consist of primary source materials such as organizational records and personal papers. The collections document the geographic service region of the University and provide research materials to enhance the educational mission of EKU. 
 
Special Collections
Special Collections consists primarily of books and periodicals relating to Kentucky history and literature, to Appalachia or Appalachian studies, by Kentucky authors, and that are genealogical in nature. In addition, Special Collections houses rare and at-risk material, items of artifactual interest, and EKU faculty publications. 
 
William H. Berge Oral History Center
The William H. Berge Oral History Center houses extensive oral history projects that document institutional and local histories, as well as national and global events, themes, and people. With over 3,700 interviews, the Center provides research opportunities for students, faculty, and community members across disciplines. 
 
University Archives
The University Archives seeks to properly and consistently maintain Eastern's records in accordance with Kentucky state law. However, the value of University records goes far beyond mere legal obligation. Records such as University photographs, minutes of policy-making bodies, memos, campus maps, and correspondence help document the University's history and provide a reference for a past that could otherwise be forgotten.

Basic Use Guidelines

  • Items may be used only in Special Collections & Archives
  • Pencil only
  • Bags must go in a locker
  • No food/drink ~ No tobacco/vaping
  • Use our copier ~ Use your camera

Collecting Themes

19th & 20th Century Politics
African American History
Appalachian History
Built Environment
Education
EKU History
Kentucky Authors & Literature
Kentucky History
Land Records
Local History
Military History
Religious History
Social Justice
Sports History
Women's History

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University