Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives: Archives Instruction Program

How Do I Cite Archives?

Methods for citing primary sources (e.g., archival and manuscript collections) differ from those for published works. The discipline in which you are writing and class requirements will determine the citation system you should use. This guide provides examples of how to cite some common primary sources based on the Chicago Manual of Style, which you should consult for more detailed information. For more information, we recommend that you check the appropriate style manual, as well as the additional links provided in this guide. 

 

Make sure to take comprehensive notes while doing research! It is better to have more information than you need when the paper is due tomorrow and the Archives is closed!

 

Material from our book collection should be cited just as you would any other book or journal article.

General Guidelines

The following elements are the basic information needed for a complete citation in your bibliography. Keep in mind that when working with primary sources it is quite common to not know all the elements needed for a citation. 

  1. Author or creator’s name (if known)
  2. Title of the work
  3. Format (letter, diary, survey…)
  4. Date (if known)
  5. Publication information (city, company, if given)
  6. Collection name, number, box and/or folder
  7. Repository – Eastern Kentucky University Special Collections & Archives.
  8. URL (for digitized resources found online)

Additional Resources

Here are some websites that give additional information on citation styles. Check with your instructor on their citation preference.

Examples of Footnotes for Resources Most Often Used in the Archives

Vertical Files

Vertical files contain newspaper clippings, magazine articles, brochures, and other ephemera. Describe the item by author, name or title, date, and name of file.

“Richmond Mill Sold to Price and Winkler,” Aug. 15, 1929, Kentucky Vertical File: Mills-Madison County, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

“Dedication: Greg Adams Building,” program, Feb. 25, 1977, Eastern Kentucky University Vertical File: Adams Tennis Building, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Sue McClelland Thierman, “A Mighty Lion Raged at White Hall,” The Courier-Journal Magazine, Jun. 13, 1954, Kentucky Vertical File: Clay, Cassius M., Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Digital Content

Digital Collections image

“Richmond High School Championship Basketball Team,” 1942, Jimmy Taylor Photographs, 1942-1967, image no. 2015A016-00374, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives Digital Collections, accessed 6/4/2021, https://digitalcollections.eku.edu/items/show/24170. (Include the URL and date the item is accessed from EKU Special Collections & Archives Digital Collections or from the William H. Berge Oral History Center online collections.)

Digital Collections brochure

“Handcraft Pottery,” date unknown, Waco Pottery Collection, coll. no. 0010-009, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives Digital Collections, accessed 6/4/2021, https://digitalcollections.eku.edu/items/show/88767.

Photographs

“Dedication of John Hanlon Drive,” Sep. 30, 1968, Eastern Kentucky University Photographs, image. no. 0001-005-05827, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

“Carl D. Perkins,” photograph, date unknown, Carl D. Perkins Congressional Papers, 1948-1984, coll. no. 2005A002, box S-008, folder 12, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Louis Schlegel, photographer, photograph of Jim Oldham, date unknown, Richmond, KY, Annette Toler Photographs, image no. 2015A001-009, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Maps

Streams of Kentucky, Map, Frankfort, KY: Kentucky Department of Commerce, 1963, Map Collection, coll. no. 0020-005, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Manuscripts

Letter (unpublished)

Elvira Sydnor Slaughter, Letter to John Wilson Townsend, Mar. 9, 1912, John Wilson Townsend Papers, coll. no. 2005A001, box 13, folder 1, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Speech

Keen Johnson, “Inaugural Address of Governor Keen Johnson,” speech given at the Inauguration of Governor Keen Johnson, Frankfort, KY, Dec. 12, 1939,  Keen Johnson Papers, coll. no. 1982A001, box 55, folder 16, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Diary

Martha White, Diary of Martha White, 1905-1908, Green/Fife/White Family Papers, coll. no. 1989A006, box 1, folder 13, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Oral History Interviews

Robert R. Martin, interview by William E. Ellis, Dec. 13, 1976, tape no. 2003OH353, Robert R. Martin Oral History Project, William H. Berge Oral History Center, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Sound Recordings

Vincent Bugliosi, Lecture by Vincent Bugliosi, sound recording, Center Board lecture at Eastern Kentucky University, recorded Sep. 26, 1977, Eastern Kentucky University Audio Collection, coll. no. 0001-006, box 2, Reel to reel, MP3, WAVE, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Microfilm Records

Federal & State Census

Richmond, Madison County, KY (1880), Federal Census, Roll No. 431, Microfilm Collection, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Local Records

Ambrose Coffee, "Deposition of Ambrose Coffee," Nov. 22-24, 1809, Madison County, Kentucky Deed Book I, pp. 87-113, Microfilm Collection, Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Example of Bibliography for the Above Footnotes

Eastern Kentucky University Audio Collection. Collection No. 0001-006. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Eastern Kentucky University Photographs. Collection No. 0001-005. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Eastern Kentucky University Vertical Files. Collection No. 0001-001. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Green/Fife/White Family Papers. Collection No. 1982A001. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Johnson, Keen Papers. Collection No. 1982A001. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Kentucky Vertical Files. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Map Collection. Collection No. 0020-005. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Martin, Robert R. Oral History Project. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives, William H. Berge Oral History Center.

 

Perkins, Carl D. Congressional Papers. Collection No. 2005A002. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Taylor, Jimmy Photographs. Collection No. 2015A016. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Toler, Annette Photographs. Collection No. 2015A001. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Townsend, John Wilson Papers. Collection No. 2005A001. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

 

Waco Pottery Collection. Collection No. 0010-009. Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 521 Lancaster Avenue, Library 126, Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1792
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University