It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book is designed as an introduction to the field of 3Dprinting. It includes an overview of 3D printing technology in industry,education, and the exploding area of Do-It-Yourself. It contains a detailedlook at the common 3D printers, materials, and software. Using full-colorimages throughout, the book guides you on setting up your own printer andperforming calibration tasks, including descriptions of printing methods, bestpractices, pitfalls to avoid, and how to finish a completed project. Dividedinto three parts, the book covers a brief history and evolution of 3D printers,along with their use in industry and in personal consumer use in Part 1. Part 2gets you started with the set up and use of a common 3D printer, from initialhardware and material calibration and safety, to how the software functions work,and how to acquire 3D objects to print. It then showcases three differentprojects from start to finish. Part 3 concentrates on buying your own printer,the common features of personal 3D printers, and includes sections for theadventurous on post-market modifications. Companion files are included withvideos, applications, and examples of 3D printing. Features: Companion files are included with printable 3D objects in common formats, additional lessons, checklists, figures from the text, and videos showing time-lapse, printing, and print refinement Provides an overview of the technology, applications, and design issues associated with 3D printing technology Includes review questions, discussion/essay questions and "Applying What You've Learned" in every chapter
3D Printing by John Perritano
Publication Date: 2017-12-24
Themes: 3D Printing, Science, Technology, Nonfiction, Tween, Emergent Reader, Chapter Book, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. 3D printing has made some fascinating developments in recent years. It has been around since the 1980s, but technology has improved dramatically. Now, 3D printers are used in business, medicine, cooking, fashion, and more. Engage your most struggling readers in grades 4-7 with Red Rhino Nonfiction! This new series features high-interest topics in every content area. Visually appealing full-color photographs and illustrations, fun facts, and short chapters keep emerging readers focused. Written at a 1.5-1.9 readability level, these books include pre-reading comprehension questions and a 20-word glossary for comprehension support.
3D Printing by Melissa Koch
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
3D printing was once only known through science fiction, such as Star Trek, the popular 1960s TV series. But inventors and engineers on Earth began experimenting in real life with 3D printing to find faster ways to develop and build prototypes, using computers, ultraviolet lasers, and printable materials. Now, there are many innovative uses for 3D printing. Yet 3D printing has drawbacks. Chemicals used in 3D printing can be toxic, and legal experts are not sure how to protect 3D printing inventions so that others do not steal ideas. Learn how 3D printing works and how we can keep up with the safety, health, and legal challenges that lie ahead.
3D Printing by Terence O'Neill; Josh Williams
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
As they become more common and more powerful, 3D printers are allowing makers everywhere to bring their ideas to life. Readers will discover new processes, integrate visual information with text, and learn technical word meanings as they discover how 3D printers work and how makers are using them today. They will also learn how to create their own inventions from 3D computer models.
An Introduction to 3D Printing by Victoria Zukas; Jonas A. Zukas
Publication Date: 2015-05-06
The book is structured to serve the needs of several types of readers interested in 3D printing. It serves as a general introduction to the subject and its application in many fields, including industry, space, medicine, housing, clothing and consumer-oriented products. Next, methods and available software for creating a 3D model and the steps needed to insure a useful printed object are reviewed. The considerations involved in deciding whether or not to purchase a 3D printer or make use of an ever-growing number of printing services is included. The book concludes with an exercise which walks you through the characteristics of an available software package and the steps required to design a practical object. Doing this exercise - not just reading through it - will give you considerable insight into the capabilities of 3D software packages and, we hope, build your confidence and encourage you to try to create an object of your own choosing.
3D Printing with Biomaterials by Ad van Wijk; Iris van Wijk
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Additive manufacturing or 3D printing, manufacturing a product layer by layer, offers large design freedom and faster product development cycles, as well as low startup cost of production, on-demand production and local production. In principle, any product could be made by additive manufacturing. Even food and living organic cells can be printed. We can create, design and manufacture what we want at the location we want. 3D printing will create a revolution in manufacturing, a real paradigm change.3D printing holds the promise to manufacture with less waste and energy. We can print metals, ceramics, sand, synthetic materials such as plastics, food or living cells. However, the production of plastics is nowadays based on fossil fuels. And that's where we witness a paradigm change too. The production of these synthetic materials can be based also on biomaterials with biomass as feedstock.A wealth of new and innovative products are emerging when we combine these two paradigm changes: 3D printing and biomaterials. Moreover, the combination of 3D printing with biomaterials holds the promise to realize a truly sustainable and circular economy.
Visualizing Mathematics with 3D Printing by Henry Segerman
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
The first book to explain mathematics using 3D printed models. Winner of the Technical Text of the Washington Publishers Wouldn't it be great to experience three-dimensional ideas in three dimensions? In this book--the first of its kind--mathematician and mathematical artist Henry Segerman takes readers on a fascinating tour of two-, three-, and four-dimensional mathematics, exploring Euclidean and non-Euclidean geometries, symmetry, knots, tilings, and soap films. Visualizing Mathematics with 3D Printing includes more than 100 color photographs of 3D printed models. Readers can take the book's insights to a new level by visiting its sister website, 3dprintmath.com, which features virtual three-dimensional versions of the models for readers to explore. These models can also be ordered online or downloaded to print on a 3D printer. Combining the strengths of book and website, this volume pulls higher geometry and topology out of the realm of the abstract and puts it into the hands of anyone fascinated by mathematical relationships of shape. With the book in one hand and a 3D printed model in the other, readers can find deeper meaning while holding a hyperbolic honeycomb, touching the twists of a torus knot, or caressing the curves of a Klein quartic.
How 3D Printing Will Impact Society by Cecilia Pinto McCarthy
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
When anyone can print out a full-formed 3D object at home, the entire manufacturing industry will be turned on its head. How 3D Printing Will Impact Society examines the progress in this field, looks at the science behind it, and discusses how it will shape our world in the future.
Cutting-Edge 3D Printing by Karen Latchana Kenney
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
What if people could make toys, foods, or even body parts using a computer printer? They can! Modern programmers and scientists have figured out a way to make three-dimensional versions of almost anything they can design on a computer. This title covers the latest, greatest advances in 3D printing, from how it works to how it's used in homes, schools, and workplaces. Accessible language, up-to-date photos, and a high-interest STEM topic make this a great choice for eager and reluctant readers alike.
Academic Library Use of 3D Printing by Primary Research Group Staff (Summary by)
Publication Date: 2015-08-15
The report looks closely at how 25 colleges are using 3D printing, predominantly in their academic libraries. The report helps its readers to answer questions such as: how much are academic libraries spending on their 3D printers and related peripherals? What kind of equipment are they buying? What is policy on the technology replacement cycle? Who is making the decisions on equipment purchases? Which academic departments are the heaviest users of 3D printing equipment? What percentage of use is for education? For research? For personal use? How much staff time does 3D printing consume? How can staff time be maximized? What are the biggest problems that libraries are encountering in developing and implementing 3D printing programs? How is equipment being funded? What percentage of funding is grant or gift derived? What percentage of cost is funded through cost recovery charges to end users or through service agreements? How are libraries handling the potential environmental hazards of 3D printing? How has the program affected the library's standing on campus? What kind of advice are librarians who have had programs up and running offering to their peers?Just a few of the report's many findings are that:* Mean spending on the initial stock of 3-D printers and related hardware and software was $6,328 with a median of $5,000 and a range of $0-$23,000.* For 52% of the colleges sampled, the library or departmental operating budget was the primary source of funding for the 3D printing operation.* Some interesting modes of campus collaboration are emerging. One library gave engineering students a privileged position on accessibility in exchange for engineering department help in equipment support and maintenance. Another research librarian gushed: "the Library has become a hotbed for cross-pollination between researchers and entrepreneurs."
3D Reconstruction by Josephine Weber
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The study of three-dimensional reconstruction of objects and scenes has been and remains now a widely researched topic. It has been investigated for many applications, for instance, video game development, animation, movies, virtual reality, teleoperating surgery, among other engineering-related applications. In this book, Chapter One reviews preoperative planning and intraoperative navigation based on 3D modeling for retroperitoneal procedures. Chapter Two discusses fringe pattern analysis using phase shifting techniques applied to solid digitalization in Advanced RISC Machine (ARM) architecture. Chapter Three describes the steps for 3D digitalization using a Fourier Transform Profilometry (FTP). Chapter Four compares different wavelet transform for its use in 3D reconstruction.
3D Printing for Artists, Designers and Makers by Stephen Hoskins
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
Fully revised and with a new chapter and international case studies, this second edition of the best-selling book traces how artists and designers continue to adapt and incorporate 3D printing technology into their work and explains how the creative industries are directly interfacing with this new technology. Covering a broad range of applied art practice - from fine art and furniture-design to film-making - Stephen Hoskins introduces some of his groundbreaking research from the Centre for Fine Print Research along with an updated history of 3D print technology, a new chapter on fashion and animation, and new case studies featuring artists working with metal, plastic, ceramic and other materials. A fascinating investigation into how the applied arts continue to adapt to new technologies and a forecast of what developments we might expect in the future, this book is essential reading for students, researchers studying contemporary art and design and professionals involved in the creative industries.