Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geek Media Labs

The EKU IT Geek Media Spaces: areas where students can learn about digital production skills (video, photography, and audio studios) and the technology to use them.

EKU Library Book & Other Resources

Photo Resources

Below, you can find a list of websites hosting free images:

  1. Commons : http://search.creativecommons.org/
  2. http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page : Images database made available by authors for free use. Quote the source as requested (depends on the image - must be carefully examined)
  3. http://www.stockvault.net/ : Free pictures with authorized use for education purposes. WARNING: the search engines first show results from paid sites. Be careful when you choose your pictures! If there is a big “download” button on the left of the picture, it is OK. NB: It is not mentioned that you need to quote the picture author.
  4. http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/ : Professional images database, all domains. Use English search keywords. Use the citation method requested.
  5. http://www.freeimages.com/ : Free pictures to illustrate websites. Requires to create an user account. WARNING: the search engines first show results from paid sites. Be careful when you choose your pictures!
  6. https://unsplash.com : Beautiful pictures.
  7. http://compfight.com/ : Search engine for the pictures posted on Flickr. WARNING: click on the “creative commons” filter in the left menu of search results, in order to display only the pictures released under this licence. For each picture, check the conditions and the citation method.
  8. https://www.iconfinder.com WARNING: the search engines first shows results from paid sites. Be careful when you choose your pictures!
  9. https://pixabay.com/ A huge database of public domain images. No quoting is requested (it is written “aucune attribution n’est demandée”).
  10. http://librestock.com/ 43 free stock photo websites in one place. All the photos indexed on LibreStock are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. this means you can use these pictures freely for any legal purpose.
  11. http://nos.twnsnd.co/ Vintage photos from the public archives. Free of known copyright restrictions. All photos are at the very least available for personal and non-commercial use. Most prefer that you link back to the original flickr photo and mention the institution by name
  12. https://unsplash.com/ Free “do-whatever-you-want” photos. Released under the CC0 license. 10 new high-quality photos released every 10 days.
  13. https://foodiesfeed.com/ Free to use without attribution; however, the may not be resold.
  14. http://join.deathtothestockphoto.com/ Free images for commercial use. Delivered monthly to your inbox. You do not have the right to claim these photos as your own. You have to sign up to see and download the images.
  15. http://magdeleine.co/ One free high-res photo every day (and access to a full repository of images). Use the handy filter to find images that are either public domain or require attribution.
  16. http://publicdomainarchive.com/ All images are completely free for personal or commercial use, no link or attribution required.These images are all released under CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) Public Domain Dedication.
  17. https://www.goodfreephotos.com/ Public domain images taken by the owner of the site. Offers some good location-based images.
  18. https://freerangestock.com/ High-res images, registration required. It is suggested you link back to the site and give credit to the photographer, but it isn't required. You cannot resell, distribute, or claim ownership of the images. You have to create an user account to be able to download the images.
  19. http://pickupimage.com/ Searchable database of public domain images. You have to create an user account to be able to download the images.
  20. http://www.photogen.com/ Free for personal or commercial use, but not suitable for resale or redistribution.
  21. http://www.gratisography.com/ Free collection of amazing images taken by photographer Ryan McGuire. All photos provided under CC0.
  22. http://skitterphoto.com/ License-free photos, free to use under CC0.
  23. http://www.lifeofpix.com/ High-quality, public domain images with no copyright restrictions. https://www.pexels.com/ Searchable database of CC0 images.
  24. http://morguefile.com/ A huge repository of free photos. You're free to use the images for personal or commercial purposes, but you cannot claim ownership of them.
  25. http://www.splitshire.com/ Free photos with no copyright restrictions.
  26. http://www.1millionfreepictures.com/ Free amateur public domain images. They ask visitors to quote their site when they are using their pictures.
  27. http://pdpics.com/ Public domain images taken by their in-house team of photographers.
  28. https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/ Access to all Flickr photos sorted by license. This allows you to find images under the public domain, non-commercial license, attribution license, etc. Make sure you select 'Public Domain' to find images that don't require attribution.
  29. The Internet Archive
  30. The Internet Archive Public Domain search

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University