Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geek Gaming Labs

The EKU IT Geek Gaming Space (The Game Cave) is an area where students can play video games, console games, board games, and VR exerience\games.

Geek Board Game Inventory

Game No of Players Playing Time Age Categories Mechanisms Designers Publishers
Carcassonne 2-5 30-45 mins 7+ City Building, Medieval, Territory Building Area Majority / Influence, Map Addition, Tile Placement Klaus-Jürgen Wrede Hans im Glück and others
Catan 3-4 60-120 mins 10+ Economic, Negotiation Dice Rolling, Hexagon Grid, Income, Modular Board, Network and Route Building, Race, Random Production, Trading, Variable Setup

Klaus Teuber

KOSMOS, 999 Games, and others
Checkers 2 30 mins 6+ Abstract Strategy, Comic Book / Strip Grid Movement, Pattern Movement, Square Grid, Static Capture Uncredited, released in 1150 AD Public Domain
Chess 2 60 mins 6+ Abstract Strategy Grid Movement, Pattern Movement, Square Grid, Static Capture Uncredited, released in 1475 AD Public Domain
Clue 2-6 40 mins 8+ Bluffing, Deduction, Murder / Mystery Dice Rolling, Roll / Spin and Move Patrick Otley Hasbro, Parker Spiele
Coup 2-6 15 mins 13+ Bluffing, Card Game, Deduction, Party Game, Political Hidden Roles, Memory, Player Elimination, Take That, Variable Player Powers Rikki Tahta Indie Boards & Games, La Mame Games, and others
Downfall of Pompeii 2-4 45 mins 10+ Ancient Grid Movement, Hand Management, Tile Placement Klaus-Jürgen Wrede

AMIGO, Maldito Games, Mayfair Games

Forbidden Island 2-4 30 mins 10+ Adventure, Fantasy Action Points, Cooperation Game, Grid Movement, Hand Management, Map Reduction, Modular Board, Pick-up and Deliver, Set Collection, Solo / Solitaire Game, Variable Player Powers Matt Leacock Gamewright and others
Gloom 2-4 60 mins 13+ Card Game, Horror, Humor Hand Management, Layering, Lose a Turn, Storytelling, Take That Keith Baker

Atlas Games, Black Monk, Edge Entertainment, uplay.it edizioni

Jenga 1-8 20 mins 6+ Action / Dexterity, Party Game Physical Removal, Single Loser Game, Stacking and Balancing Leslie Scott Barnes & Noble and others
Monopoly 2-8 60-180 mins 8+ Economic, Negotiation Auction/Bidding, Income, Loans, Lose a Turn, Player Elimination, Roll / Spin and Move, Set Collection, Stock Holding, Track Movement, Trading (Uncredited), Charles Darrow, Elizabeth J. Magie (Phillips) - released in 1933 Parker Brothers and others
Munchkin Deluxe 3-6 60-120 mins 10+ Card Game, Fantasy, Fighting, Humor Hand Management, Take That, Variable Player Powers Steve Jackson Steve Jackson Games and others
Risk 2-6 120 mins 10+ Territory Building, Wargame Area Movement, Dice Rolling, Player Elimination, Set Collection Albert Lamorisse, Michael I. Levin, first release in 1959 Alga and others
Rook 2-6 45 mins 8+ Card Game Auction/Bidding, Card Drafting, Hand Management, Team-Based Game, Trick-taking George S. Parker, Grace Parker, first released in 1906

Hasbro, Parker Brothers, Rook Card Company, and others

Pandemic 2-4 45 mins 8+ Medical  Action Points, Cooperation Game, Hand Management, Point to Point Movement, Set Collection, Trading, Variable Player Powers Matt Leacock Z-Man Games and others
Scrabble 2-4 90 mins 10+ Word Game End Game Bonuses, Hand Management, Square Grid, Tile Placement Alfred Mosher Butts, first released in 1948 Hasbro and others
Splendor 2-4 30 mins 10+ Card Game, Economic, Renaissance Card Drafting, Contracts, Race, Set Collection Marc André

Space Cowboys,  Asmodee, and others

Takenoko 2-4 45 mins 8+ Animals, Environmental, Farming, Territory Building Action Points, Contracts, Dice Rolling, End Game Bonuses, Grid Movement, Hexagon Grid, Modular Board, Network and Route Building, Pattern Building, Set Collection, Tile Placement  Antoine Bauza Bombyx, Matagot, and others
Ticket to Ride 2-5 30-60 mins 8+ Trains Card Drafting, Connections, End Game Bonuses, Hand Management, Network and Route Building, Push Your Luck, Set Collection Alan R. Moon Days of Wonder and others
UNO 2-10 30 mins 6+ Card Game, Number, Comic Book / Strip, Movie / TV / Radio Theme Hand Management, Lose a Turn, Matching, Take That Merle Robbins, first published in 1971 AMIGO and others
Unstable Unicorns 2-8 30-45 mins 14+ Card Game, Humor, Party Game Hand Management, Set Collection, Take That Ramy Badie

(Self-Published),  Breaking Games, and others

What do you MEME 3-20 30-90 mins 17+ Card Game, Humor, Mature / Adult, Party Game Hand Management, Simultaneous Action Selection Elie Ballas, Ben Kaplan, Elliot Tebele (Self-Published), and others
Yahtzee 2-10 30 mins 6+ Children's Game, Comic Book / Strip, Dice, Movie / TV / Radio theme, Music, Sports, Travel Dice Rolling, Paper-and-Pencil, Push Your Luck, Re-rolling and Locking, Set collection Edwin S. Lowe, first released in 1956 Public Domain and others
               

We also have playing cards and poker chips and various puzzles too!

Videos

EKU Library Book Resources

Play Virtually

Here are some games you can play virtually, if you'd rather.

Completely Online

Codenames

Just One

Insider

Catan

One Night Ultimate Werewolf

Sherlock Holmes Consulting Detective: Thames Murders

More games:

Board Game Arena

Tabletopia

Tabletop Simulator (on Steam)

 

Physical Component

For these a video conferencing software will be needed for all participants and one participant will need to have a physical version of the game and a camera so it can be aimed at the game with them.

Scattergories

Big Boggle

Clue

 

Print & Play Games

Jellybean: Night of the Mummy |  Goblin Teeth  |  Meow!  | Jabberwocky  | Dracula's Feast: New Blood  | Brains  | Hidden Panda  |  Village Pillage  | Show & Tile  |  Ninjitsu!  | The Lady and the Tiger  | Dracula's Feast  | Scuttle!  | 

Good Little Games

Cheap Ass Games

 

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University