Government Information

These resources are vital sources of information about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Government.

Congressional Record --The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition.) 

The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation -- Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States. 

Economic Indicators -- Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. 

The Economic Report of the President to the Congress -- An annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices. 

Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov) -- A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. 

Federal Register --The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders. 

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) -- A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers. 

Official Congressional Directory -- Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content. 

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States -- Official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. 

Social Security Handbook -- Resource for the most common questions about Social Security. 

United States Code -- The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles. 

The United States Government Manual --The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees. 

United States Reports Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. 

United States Statutes at Large Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress. 

USA.gov A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available