BEM 202 Information Gathering: Research Guide

A collaboration between WGBH and the Library of Congress with a long-term vision to preserve and make accessible significant historical content created by public media, and to coordinate a national effort to save at-risk public media before its content is lost to posterity.

The AP Archive YouTube Channel includes thousands of news, sports, entertainment and fashion stories dating back to 1895. New footage is added daily from their global news network. Content can be shared, but not downloaded.

The Defense Visual Information Distribution Service (DVIDS), formerly the "Defense Video & Imagery Distribution System," is an operation supported by the Defense Media Activity (DMA). It provides a connection between world media and the American military personnel serving at home and abroad. It supports all branches of the U.S. military as well as its coalition partners in the Central Command (CENTCOM) area of responsibility. DVIDS broadcasts videos, photographs, podcasts, audio, webcasts, interviews, and print products.

VIEW clips from 1,709,000 US news shows since 2009.

With over 350,000 motion pictures and 160,000 television programs, and 27 million feet of newsreel footage, UCLA Film & Television Archive is the world's largest university-held collection of motion pictures and broadcast programming.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.

This collection is comprised of audio recordings of programs broadcast by Louisville radio station WHAS. The collection is especially strong in documenting a wide range of state, national, and world political figures and news events during the late 1930s, throughout the 1940s, and into the middle 1950s. Entertainment programs include soap operas, musical variety shows, country music, and sporting events such as the Kentucky Derby.