Research Guides: Education Research Guide: Copyright-Friendly Media Resources and Tools

Teaching students about digital citizenship

Attribute!
Creative Commons for Students

When using Creative Commons images and other media, it is extremely important to cite them correctly. Check out this great infographic guide to using Creative Commons for information about what it is, how to use it, and how to properly attribute Creative Commons-licensed materials.

Creative Commons: The Ultimate Guide Created by Foter.com. CC BY-SA. This work is licensed under http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/ - See more at: http://libguides.eku.edu/aecontent.php?pid=485605&sid=3981786#sthash.0hmqrvc7.dpuf
Flickr Creative Commons Attribution Helper (Google Chrome Extension) The Flickr CC Attribution Helper generates text and HTML that you can use in webpages, presentations, and any other place that you use someone's Creative Commons works.

creative commons infographic

More free digital storytelling and booktalking web tools

Websites that allow legal access to images, music, and sounds

Images
Music & Sounds

Digital History The materials included in the Digital History website are original works of authorship, government records, works for which copyright permission has expired, works reprinted with permission, or works that are within the fair use protection of the copyright laws.
Wikimedia Commons A database of over 23 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
National Galleries of Art
Browse, share, and download digital images from the National Gallery of Art collections. NGA contains more than 43,000 open access digital images.Up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Creative Commons Search This site provides links to a host of sites and organizations that have agreed to some leniency of copyright protection.
Flickr Commons The result of a collaboration between Flickr and the Library of Congress to host historical photographs that have "no known copyright restrictions" in order to make it easier to view historical photographs. Ideal for projects that revolve around history and culture.
Pics4Learning Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting. The thousands of photos in this collection are approved for use in the classroom and indexed and sorted in order to maximize their effective use by students in a 21st century classroom. While the photographers retain the rights to these photos, they have graciously allowed their use through this collection.
Pixabay Pixabay is a repository for outstanding public domain images. You can freely use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without attribution requirement to the original author.

Musopen
Recordings, sheet music, and textbooks on music and musical instruments.

American Rhetoric An online bank of historical speeches (text, audio, and video) that you can use in your digital story or book talk.
Beatpick Beatpick offers a great selection of licensed music and if you are using it in a non-commercial or non-profit production it’s free. Once you’ve chosen a song that you want to use, click on “License Song” and choose “Non Commercial projects.”
Creative Commons Search This site provides links to a host of sites and organizations that have agreed to some leniency of copyright protection.
FindSounds A free site where you can search the web for sound effects and musical instrument samples.
Free Kids' Music This site has children's music available from artists who have agreed to share their work for free for children and educators
Free Music Archive
Sound Bible Sound Bible offers free sound clips, sound bites, and sound effects.