Research Guides: Education Research Guide: EME 313

Primary sources

MET Museum: Timeline of Art History
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
The British Museum
The Museum’s entire digitized database to date can be found here. Eventually the database will contain a record of every object in the Museum collection, with associated conservation and scientific reports where available.
World Digital Library
Collection of manuscripts, books and visual resources. Try selecting a date range of interest, then use limiters to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
Ancient Greece (The British Museum)
Images and background info on various aspects of life in Ancient Greece
National Archives
The U.S. Government’s collection of documents (firsthand facts, data, and evidence from letters, reports, notes, memos, photographs, and other primary sources) that records important events in American history.
Spartacus Educational
Online primary and secondary source material produced by British historian, John Simkin. His goal is to produce historical materials that enhance active learning.

Other online tools

Ancient Greece: Teacher Resources (The British Museum)
These 'Staff Room' pages have been developed to help teachers get the most out of the web site for themselves and for their class. It is predominantly aimed at schoolchildren aged 9 - 11 and their teachers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Digital Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World (EHW) is an original electronic project aiming at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space.

New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
Digital archive of national and international news from 1851 to 2020.

Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through a united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
Kentucky Historical Society - Kentucky Academic Standards (KAS) for Social Studies Connections [Resources]
A new set of Kentucky Academic Standards for Social Studies passed in July 2019. The Kentucky Historical Society is creating tools to help aid K-12 educators in the teaching of these new standards, especially those specifically focused on Kentucky.

Doing research for your Time Travel Scrapbook

1. Identify your era or historical period.
2. Gather background information to identify key events, locations, people, etc. (try the Oxford Reference Online, Wikipedia--don't cite this!, Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World, Google, and other sources that give overviews).
3. Search for those specific events, locations, and/or people in an online collection (try the World Digital Library, EKU's online search, Google Scholar, or an article database).

*Evaluate your sources!

When searching for primary sources, consider what type of document/item will help illustrate aspects of the time period you are researching. (Diaries, letters, newspaper articles, government documents, photographs, art, etc.)