BEM 495 Video Production III: Research Guide

Primary Sources Database

• Contains finding aids/inventories of manuscripts and university records that are found in Special Collections & Archives. You can create an account and add materials to your cart to request them ahead of your visit. Please stop by to view these inventoried materials in person. Note: Some pages may be slow to load, so please be patient.

Berge Oral History Center Database

• Contains indexes, transcripts, and audio files of oral history interviews on various topics. If audio is not currently online, it can be requested.

Digital Collections Database

• Images of many EKU buildings, people, subjects, and events can be found by browsing or searching this database, which is also found on the Special Collections & Archives homepage.

Request Copies - Duplication Request Form

• To request images, please complete our online duplication request form. Scanned images will be shared with you via Dropbox. All reproductions must cite "Eastern Kentucky University Libraries, Special Collections & Archives" in a visible caption or credit.

Eastern Yearbooks

• Milestone: 1922-1999, 2008-2010 in Internet Archive.

Newspapers

• Eastern Progress (historical): 1922-2005, 2009-2013 in Encompass. A card index covering 1922-2000 is available. Please stop by to view the index in person.
• Eastern Progress (at medium.com): Feb-Jun 2018
• Eastern Progress (current): 2001-present
• Richmond Register: Helpful for new buildings or more recent events, online since 2006.

EKU Press Releases and News

• Office of Public Information Records (1981A001): Covering 1944-2008. Please stop by to view these files in person. Note: This page may be slow to load, so please be patient.
• Athletic Director's Office Records (1986A006): Covering 1926-2011, but predominantly 1970-1989. The majority of press releases start in Series 3: Sports Information Director, Box 8. Please stop by to view these files in person. Note: This page may be slow to load, so please be patient.
• EKU Magazine (alumni magazine): 2007-present
• EKU Stories: December 2014-present

Board of Regents

• Agenda and minutes, 1906-present. Index to minutes, 1906-2010. Please stop by to view these in person.
• Agenda: 2015-present
• Minutes: 1906-2010. The advanced search function of the Digital Collections Database is very helpful for limiting your search to the EKU Board of Regents Records. Use the "Find in Document" function to search within an item (click the search icon or press Ctrl + F on the keyboard).
• Minutes: 2015-present

Vertical Files, University (0001-001)

• An inventory of the vertical files that we have. The files cover many EKU people, subjects, and buildings. Please stop by to view these in person. Note: This page may be slow to load, so please be patient.

Discover EKU Exhibit

• This exhibit showcases EKU history, events, people, buildings, and landmarks. For example, there is information on EKU presidents and the Board of Regents. Basic information is included for most buildings, and some entries list the artworks that can be found within. Some of the buildings listed have been demolished. This exhibit is found in the Digital Collections Database.

Three Decades of Progress, 1906-1936; Five Decades of Progress, 1906-1957

• Two published histories with information on early buildings, subjects, and people.

A History of Eastern Kentucky University: The School of Opportunity

• Written by William E. Ellis, and published in 2005.