Research Resources for Biology

Enrich your stories with charts, maps, & tables

A free and open source tool for data visualization.

Make charts and dashboards online

Data visualization and storytelling

This database indexes literature in the area of dendrochronology (using tree rings to date environmental events).

Search three catalogs from the Smithsonian Botany Collections: The Botanical Type Register, Plant Photo Images and Botanical Art.

Online versions of several botanical reference works, including Flora of North America and Flora of China.

Carnegie Mellon University's Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation is a gateway to a number of useful databases, including BPH Online, the Categorical Glossary for the Flora of North America Project, and the Register of Original Botanical Art.

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources produces a searchable database of endangered, threatened, and extinct species.

Free online publications from the Environmental Protection Agency. Users can search or browse through publications in the database.

NISBase is a distributed database providing information concerning nonindigenous species. Through this site, users can access information on taxonomy, life history, native and introduced ranges, photos, maps, and impacts of aquatic species introduced around the world.

Reports and articles on health concerns surrounding U.S. wildlife.

A wide variety of resources, information, and links related to wildlife management are available here

CUROL "is devoted to the acquisition and analysis of radar data as it relates to bird movements in the atmosphere." The Lab uses the WSR-88D (NEXRAD -- Weather Surveillance Radar 88-D) to record data about large-scale migration.

One of the leading research institutes in ornithology, the Cornell Lab's mission is to interpret and conserve the earth's biological diversity through research, education, and citizen science focused on birds.

The Owl Foundation is a non-profit conservation organization that operates a center for both the rehabilitation to release status of Canadian Owl species, and the behavioral observation of permanently damaged wild owls in a breeding environment.

This is an organization dedicated to owl research, conservation, and public education.

Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"

Gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results. Topics under the heading Computers and Communication include networks, hardware, software, etc.; under Mathematics include computational science, technology, and linguistics. Each leads to lists of organizations, projects, and tools.

USDA's Economic Research Service Food Environment Atlas that shows info on Agritourism.

Click on the dropdown labeled "Select Map to Display". Select "Local Foods" and "Other Local Food Outlets" and "Agritourism operations, 2012".

This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.

The Human Genome Project (HGP) was one of the great feats of exploration in history - an inward voyage of discovery rather than an outward exploration of the planet or the cosmos; an international research effort to sequence and map all of the genes - together known as the genome - of members of our species, Homo sapiens.

MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies.

Detailed, three-dimensional images of the male and female human body, from the National Institutes of Health

The academic portal to herpetology in North America.

USGS page defining the location of amphibians in North America.

Information on malformations, as well as a link to report them.