To maintain responsible stewardship of our resources, we continually evaluate our library research collections (books, databases, videos, and journals) to align them with the teaching and research needs of our faculty and students. Our ongoing resources like journals and databases typically have a 6-8% increase in prices from year to year. Because our collections budget doesn’t receive annual increases, we must cancel some subscriptions each year.
While we understand the inconvenience of journal cancellations, we can often provide almost immediate access to those articles via Library Express (LX). Additionally, if the volume of LX requests for a particular journal increases to the point that it merits re-subscribing for cost effectiveness, we will do that.
Database cancellations have a more significant impact due to the unique functionality of these discipline-specific resources. If a database you utilize is canceled, please reach out to your liaison to help find alternative search options.
With an eye on continuous improvement and aligning our resources with evolving needs, here's a breakdown of the changes to the library's research collections for the upcoming 2024-2025 academic year:
Wall Street Journal - This includes free access to WSJ.com and associated mobile apps, including full access to the last 4 years and limited additional coverage from 2010, courtesy of EKU Libraries.
Web of Science - Citation search of journal articles within the Science Citation Index Expanded.
RILM Music Abstracts
Women Writers Online
America: History & Life
Cambridge Companions Online
If you have questions or need help accessing a resource, get help quickly by using the EKU Libraries chat feature.
0 Comments.