EKU Library News

Explore Chemical Weapons Destruction with the Research Center for Special Collections and Archives

Just outside the small town of Richmond, Kentucky, there were literal tons of chemical weapons stored. Until recently, the Blue Grass Army Depot, on the outskirts of Richmond, was one of nine sites across the United States (U.S.) which stored mustard gas and nerve agents. In 1986, Congress passed PL 99-145 (50 USC 1521) that mandated destruction of the stockpile of lethal chemical warfare agents in the U.S. Since then, communities across the U.S. have had a variety of responses to the methods used to store and eventually destroy those agents. 

On July 7, 2023, the Army completed destruction of 523.4 U.S. tons of chemical agents held at the Blue Grass Chemical Agent-Destruction Pilot Plant (BGCAPP). As the plant enters its "closure" phase, the Research Center for Special Collections and Archives (RC-SCA) would like to highlight the collections that document the intricate history of efforts to develop safe alternatives to incineration and transportation. By showcasing these materials, we aim to inspire both dedicated researchers and curious citizens to explore them, deepening their understanding of how these collections intersect with themes of community, environment, and beyond. 

Currently, RC-SCA has five collections that directly relate to the chemical weapon disposal at BGCAPP. These collections are representative of the outcry against chemical weapon destruction in Kentucky. Some are grassroots community groups, driven by concern for the environment, their families, their communities, and their futures to find a better disposal solution. Others were agencies established by Congress or the Department of Defense which served as liaisons with the community to address concerns of the community or provided educational outreach to the community. Each of these collections provides a unique perspective on the topic and would have different strengths based on the type of research an individual wanted to pursue.

• Citizen Action for a Safe Environment (CASE), 1979-1982 was formed in December 1979 in Madison County, Kentucky to address recent incidents of mishandling of toxic and hazardous materials including a cloud of gas from the Blue Grass Army Depot (BGAD) which covered the community of Peytontown. Their aim was a three-fold program of education, service and action aimed at finding solutions of problems attributed to the BGAD with the goal of protecting the community from the dangers of hazardous materials.
• Concerned Citizens of Madison County (CCMC), 1983-1996 was a citizen activist group organized solely to convince the government that on-site incineration and transportation of aging chemical weapons/agents at the Lexington Blue Grass Army Depot (LBAD) were not ideal solutions to the problem. They felt both choices posed a threat to the environment as well as the citizens of Madison County and advocated for alternatives.
• Kentucky Environmental Foundation (KEF), 1980-2016 is a citizen action group concerned with environmental issues. Their records document the community efforts of Madison County residents to encourage the safe disposal of chemical weapons in Madison County. Some of this information is centered on the work of Chemical Weapons Working Group and Kentucky disposal. 
• Kentucky Chemical Demilitarization Citizens Advisory Commission, 1988-2013 was established by an act of Congress (Public Law No: 102-484) in 1992 to serve as a communication link between the communities surrounding the Blue Grass Army Depot and the Department of Defense relating to chemical demilitarization efforts. As a part of their mission their records consist of hundreds of publications and presentations documenting the process of determining a safe method of disposal of the chemical weapons at the Depot.
• Blue Grass Chemical Stockpile Outreach Office Records, 1966-2024 was established by the Army to educate the community about chemical weapons. These records  highlight the community work and information sharing accomplished by the outreach office in Madison County. This collection displays the office’s dedication to ensuring transparency and knowledge between the community and the military while dealing with a topic that many felt strongly about.

We are excited to see how researchers will utilize these collections. Researchers can use the unique perspectives from each collection to paint a bigger picture of the impact that the destruction of these chemical weapons had on our community, our environment, our legislature, and our future.

If you'd like to learn more about Eastern Kentucky University's Research Center for Special Collections and Archives, please visit us online or stop by in person! 

Written by: Alisha Ashby, Research Center for Special Collections and Archives