Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives: Who We Are

Assess and Obtain Collections

Appraisal and Acquisition

Archivists appraise collections not to determine monetary value, but to determine the enduring value of the collection's content for research purposes. In order to provide the most appropriate range of content, archivists acquire resources that meet specific collecting criteria.

Organize and Store Collections

Arrangement

Collections seldom arrive in a condition that is easy to use or interpret. 

Archivist Goals: 

  • Retain important connections. 
  • Clarify context. 
  • Improve navigation. 

Description 

Tells you whether a collection is appropriate for your research interests. 

Archivist Goals:

  • Provide background of collections.

  • Summarize collection content.

  • Identify potential research themes.

Preservation

Mitigates damage and deterioration to collections.

Archivist Goals:

  • Stabilize environmental conditions.
  • Re-format obsolete media and file types.
  • Ensure long-term access to collections.

Connect People and Resources

Reference

Helps patrons find and access relevant archival resources.

 

Instruction

Ensures patrons use the archives to the fullest potential by providing detailed, focused guidance.

 

Outreach

Promotes archives and archival resources through community engagement and collaboration.

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 521 Lancaster Avenue, Library 126, Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1792
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University