HON 308W/312W/320W Learning in Place: Research Guide

Leslie Anderson kept many documents relating to his time as a student at Eastern Kentucky State Normal School and his early teaching career. He has photographs from these times that cannot be found anywhere else. These, along with his compositions and the scrapbooks he compiled, paint a vivid picture of what it was like to be a student at Eastern and a teacher in Kentucky in the early part of the 20th century. Later documents shed light on the earliest alumni reunions organized by graduates of Eastern Kentucky State Normal School and also offer insight into the later lives of these early graduates.

The Green - Fife - White Family Papers consist of correspondence and other documents from the family of Daniel Green and Margaret Ross Green and their descendants. The letters from Ireland to Alexander Fife are especially interesting as they discuss the economic and political situation in Ireland as well as information about family members and neighbors. The last letter in that series briefly mentions the Potato Famine. There are also numerous documents relating to slaves and slavery including a ledger which records slave birth dates and children from the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The correspondence in the collection also includes letters written during the Civil War in which currency and conditions during the war are mentioned.

The diary of Martha White was begun on December 30, 1905 when she left Richmond, Kentucky to become a trained nurse in Dr. Price's Hospital in Philadelphia. For the next three years subsequent entries describe her fellow nurses, the patients, their ailments, and her activities during her free time as well as other topics giving the researcher a good overview of the life of a young woman training to become a nurse in the early 20th century.

Richard Elmer Jaggers received his diploma from Western Kentucky State Teacher's College and obtained his post-secondary schooling at two universities. He received an A.B. degree in 1925 and a M.A. in 1926 from the University of Kentucky. Later, he attended Cornell University, where he earned his Ph.D in 1932. The main emphasis of Jaggers's studies were placed on rural education and school administration.

Dr. Jaggers's professional experience began in 1910 when he taught in a one-room schoolhouse for Hart County and the city of Marion, Kentucky. In 1932, Jaggers became the state's director of Teacher Education and Certification. By the time he retired from the State Department of Education in 1946 he had attained the office of chief of the Bureau of Instruction.

Jagger joined the staff of Eastern Kentucky State Normal School and Teacher's College (now Eastern Kentucky University) in 1926 as principal of the normal school; he also served as an instructor. Jaggers later served as chairperson of the Department of Education and Psychology at the State Teachers College in Florence, Alabama, before returning to Eastern in 1952 as a professor of elementary education.

This collection contains materials related to teacher education and public K-12 education, in particular rural education, in the state of Kentucky.

The Kadlec Papers contain information pertaining to the settlement house movement in Chicago during the early twentieth century; in particular, the University of Chicago Settlement House. In addition, the researcher will find information about Miss Mary McDowell, who was an early advocate of the settlement house movement in Chicago. In this collection the researcher will find various pamphlets and articles from Anna's days as a student at the University of Chicago. The collection includes pamphlets published by the Juvenile Protection Association of Chicago, personal collection, business correspondence related to Morris Packing Company and newspaper clippings relating to Miss Mary McDowell, Jane Addams and the settlement house movement.

The bulk of the Kunkel Family Papers was compiled by Mabel Kunkel and consists of educational essays she wrote or materials she collected to use in the classroom. There is some personal correspondence scattered through the collection as well. Collected materials cover a wide variety of topics across the entire state of Kentucky and consist of state reports, brochures, pamphlets and more. A manuscript about Thoroughbred horses and horse farms of the Bluegrass is also included. However, most materials collected for Mabel Kunkel's book on Abraham Lincoln are not included in this collection. The papers also include records from the Telford Community Center for the years 1937-1977 and include board minutes, financial records, donor records and other notes and documents.

The records contained in this collection show the LWV of Richmond to be very involved in local and state affairs, with continuing interest in national issues, but with less activity on that level. The papers in the Local Program Series are perhaps the most noteworthy as they show the league studying an issue, arriving at conclusions, and acting on those conclusions. Some of these actions were successful such as the establishment of a local health department tax; some of them were unsuccessful such as the failure to establish a local library taxing district. Other issues that LOWV worked on over the years include air and water quality, education, pollution, strip mining, urban renewal and voter irregularities. All these programs tell much about how the League of Women Voters of Richmond works.

Madison Female Institute was founded in 1857 to educate girls in the Madison County area. This collection contains some of their publications, course catalogs, financial records and other legal documents which document the operations and the educational priorities of the school.

These materials should be used with other collections containing the Madison Female Institute subject heading for more complete records of the school.

Carl D. Perkins (1912-1984) served eastern Kentucky as a US Representative between 1948 and 1984. His papers contain legal documents and correspondence related to his activities in Congress and focus heavily on coal mining, flood control, education, labor and the Appalachian Region.

Perkins served on the Labor and Education Committee for his entire tenure and fought vigorously to protect federal education and social welfare programs from budget cuts. He emerged as a leading Democratic spokesman in opposition to the Reagan administration.

The Shackelford Papers, through correspondence, diaries, photographs, newspaper clippings and other materials, document the public career and personal life of William Rodes Shackelford and his family. The correspondence series consists of letters Shackelford received from his classmates at Central University, Richmond, KY acquaintances, and business associates. Glimpses of Richmond educational, social and cultural life is found in the correspondence along with discussions on local, state and national political issues are covered, especially the watershed 1896 presidential election between William Jennings Bryan and William McKinley and the Spanish American War.

Shackelford kept a diary beginning when he was 18 and entering Central University and continuing until 1912 with a break from 1890 to 1907. The diary from his Central University time includes details about his student days. Also of interest are the ledgers of Dr. S.M. Letcher which indicate who he treated and what they were treated for. The Legal Documents series includes materials from a number of suits involving the Clay family and a case involving betting on an election.

Through correspondence, diaries, speeches, photographs, news clippings, and other primary source materials the public career and personal life of William Luxon Wallace and his family are documented. Glimpses of late nineteenth century Richmond, KY social and political life can be found in the correspondence of Wallace's father, Coleman Covington. In addition, due to Wallace's significance as an organizer in the Kentucky Republican Party, the collection sheds some light on the party's history during the first half of the twentieth century. It also contains political memorabilia which Wallace assembled along with a quantity of materials that document his World War I experience.

The correspondence is mostly personal and covers Republican Party activities, World War I, and the proper behavior expected from young women of the 1920s. Other letters deal with various state and national elections. When Wallace served on the Eastern Kentucky University Board of Regents, the subject of the correspondence shifts to Eastern.

The collection also includes several diaries from the women in the family, Wallace’s wife wrote over a span of 44 years; his sister wrote while she was at school in Louisville in the 1920s and there is one volume from his sister-in-law.