Digital HistoryThe materials included in the Digital History website are original works of authorship, government records, works for which copyright permission has expired, works reprinted with permission, or works that are within the fair use protection of the copyright laws.
Flickr CommonsThe result of a collaboration between Flickr and the Library of Congress to host historical photographs that have "no known copyright restrictions" in order to make it easier to view historical photographs. Ideal for projects that revolve around history and culture.
Wikimedia CommonsA database of over 23 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Free FotoImages are free but link back and attribution are required.
Pics4LearningPics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.
The thousands of photos in this collection are approved for use in the classroom and indexed and sorted in order to maximize their effective use by students in a 21st century classroom.
While the photographers retain the rights to these photos, they have graciously allowed their use through this collection.
PixabayPixabay is a repository for outstanding public domain images.
You can freely use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without attribution requirement to the original author.
National Galleries of ArtBrowse, share, and download digital images from the National Gallery of Art collections. NGA contains more than 43,000 open access digital images.Up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Creative Commons SearchThis site provides links to a host of sites and organizations that have agreed to some leniency of copyright protection.
Photos for ClassFinding Creative Commons images through a CC Search is a good option for students. But getting students to attribute those photos correctly can add time to the work exponentially. Photos for Class removes that hassle. It automatically adds a black ribbon across the bottom of the image with the appropriate attribution. Plus, it provides a link to the original in Flickr, in case you want the image without the attribution on it so you can add it somewhere else. Here’s an example.
American RhetoricAn online bank of historical speeches (text, audio, and video) that you can use in your digital story or book talk.
BeatpickBeatpick offers a great selection of licensed music and if you are using it in a non-commercial or non-profit production it’s free. Once you’ve chosen a song that you want to use, click on “License Song” and choose “Non Commercial projects.”
MusopenRecordings, sheet music, and textbooks on music and musical instruments.
Creative Commons SearchThis site provides links to a host of sites and organizations that have agreed to some leniency of copyright protection.
Wiki Media
Still can't find what you are looking for? These Wiki lists might include additional resources that apply to your topic.
