Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites dealing with immigration. These include passenger lists, naturalization lists and more.
Resources relating to military service in the United States.
The following sites provide access to newspapers either through digitized newspapers or through an index to various titles.
The following sites are resources relating specifically to Kentucky.
Kentucky Death Records
Search the Kentucky death index from 1911-1965.
Kentucky Digital Library
Search newspapers, oral history, photographs, manuscripts and books relating to Kentucky history and people.
Links to hundreds of Kentucky genealogy resources including pages for every county in the state. All of the websites linked to from this page are created by volunteers and information varies from one county to the next.
Kentucky Land Office
Databases of digitized documents relating to early Kentucky land grants. There is not a single search engine so each database must be searched individually.
Kentucky Marriage Records
Search for Kentucky marriage records from 1797-1954.
Search selected records at the National Archives including Native American, African American, immigration, military, court and more.
A free site with access to family trees and hundreds of genealogy forums and local history web sites.
Links to web pages for every state and county in the country. Information varies county to county as it is compiled by volunteers.
The Mormon Church site is a free site with access to millions of records and family trees.
Library of Virginia
Digitized bible, manuscript and military records, mostly relating to Virginia, but very relevant to Kentucky researchers and many early Kentuckians came from Virginia. For example a Bible record found on this website includes information about a Pulaski County, Kentucky family.
Geographical Names Information System
Search for place names across the United States. This database includes populated places, cemeteries, streams, mountains and more.
Kentucky Atlas & Gazetteer
Place name search for Kentucky with location information retrieved from the USGS Digital Gazetteer and the US Census TIGER Files.
Historic Topographic Maps
Digitizal versions of thousands of maps across the country.
David Rumsey Maps
Over 55,000 historical maps, focusing on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American maps.
The following sites require a paid subscription to access all available databases.
Ancestry Library Edition
Access census records for the entire United States from 1790 to 1930, vital records for selected states, immigration records and much more. EKU libraries provides a subscription to this database for members of the Eastern community.
Fold3 was previously know as Footnote, but they have restructured and are now focusing on military records. Digital copies of millions of primary source documents including Revolutionary War Pensions, Anti-Slavery Manuscripts, Indian Census Rolls and Naturalization Records, scanned in cooperation with the National Archives.
EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 521 Lancaster Avenue, Library 126, Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1792
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University