Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero Citation Manager

This guide contains information about installing and using Zotero, a free open source reference management program.

Citing Sources and Creating Bibliographies

Whether you need to create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, or bibliographies, Zotero will do much of the hard work for you, leaving you free to focus on your writing. Zotero integrates with Microsoft Word and LibreOffice.

Set Citation Look-up View

The best way to locate citations when you are ready to insert them is using the Classic View. To set up Classic View, select Preferences under the main Zotero menu.

Where to find the preferences option in Zotero

 

From the Preferences menu, choose Cite. Check the box next to Use Classic Add Citation Dialog. Click OK.

How to add the classic view as the default view in Zotero

Insert Citations

To add an in-text citation, first, place your cursor where you would like to add the citation. Second, select the Zotero tab. Third, choose the Add/Edit Citation option.

Steps to add a citation in Word

Select a Citation Style

Once you select Add/Edit Citation, you will be prompted to choose the appropriate citation style for your paper. You can change the citation style at any time.

How to set a citation style in Zotero

Edit a Citation

All metadata errors in a citation should be corrected in your Zotero library, not in Word. After you have gone into Zotero and updated the citation, use the Zotero Refesh button in Word to update your document.

Zotero refresh option

Create Bibliography from Citations

When you are finished adding citations, click Add/Edit Bibliography. Zotero will insert a fully-formatted and alphabetized bibliography in whatever style you have previously chosen. The bibliography will contain all of the citations inserted from your Zotero library within the text of the document.

How to add a bibliography in Word using Zotero

 

Credit

Creative Commons License

Some content from this guide was created by Jason Pucket and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Noncommercial 3.0 United States Licence

Creative Commons License

Special thanks, also, to Kristin Koob and Harvard Library. Some content from this guide was created by Harvard Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike Licence

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University