Nursing Guide

Databases for NSC 890

Databases which may have relevant content include:

Remember that while some databases, like CINAHL, have limiters which target particular types of research studies, you can always use the type of study as a search term in addition to your topic: randomized controlled trial, qualitative, systematic review, etc.  This will work in any database including CINAHL.

Other Considerations

Librarians will be happy to help coach you in your searches, by suggesting databases, search terms, limiters, etc.  Sometimes we demonstrate searches to model search techniques that you can use in the future.  Our goal is to help you become self-sufficient so that you can find evidence-based content throughout your professional life.

The library chat may not be the best way to meet with a librarian, given the complexity of your searches. Consider contacting a librarian by email or scheduling a reference appointment by Zoom (https://libcal.eku.edu/appointments?lid=403).  The Library Liaison to the School of Nursing is Karen.Gilbert@eku.edu

We can’t just find articles for you, that isn’t our role.  Additionally, we can’t “approve” or “disapprove” articles as meeting your assignment criteria. 

Once we have suggested various searches for you, it’s very likely that the resulting articles will differ in quality; as with any search, some will meet your requirements and some will be less useful.  This is the point where you will need to do some digging and exercise your critical thinking skills.  The level of research you are currently performing can be both time-consuming and sometimes frustrating; but it is always worthwhile!

Levels of Evidence from Melnyk & Fineout-Overholt (2015). Evidence-Based practice in nursing & healthcare (3nd ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

 

Library FAQs

Here are two library FAQs that may be helpful in finding studies to support your PICOT question:

Cochrane Library

When using the Cochrane Library, which is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence, you will specifically search two: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. I recommend searching them separately.  To do so, access the database at https://libguides.eku.edu/cochrane, select Choose Databases, uncheck all that don't apply, click OK and start searching.

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University