It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The EKU IT Geek Colonel Oasis is a space where students can take a break from studying, exams, or just life in general. The space provides stress-relief activities and materials--massage chair, yoga mats, puzzles, color sheets, and origami materials.
"Kate Hefferon and Ilona Boniwell have done an excellent job on this introduction to Positive Psychology! I encourage educators, students and everyone else interested in an updated, well-written and culturally balanced approach to the scientific study of human flourishing, to read this highly accessible, yet rigorously crafted text; and to get it under your skin by ways of carefully chosen tests and exercises." Hans Henrik Knoop, Aarhus University, Denmark and President, European Network for Positive Psychology "This accessible, yet comprehensive, book provides an excellent new resource in the area of positive psychology. Students, researchers and practitioners alike will benefit from the skilful and lively integration of theory, research and application. The authors are prominent members of the international positive psychology movement and as such are able to deliver a confident, practical and overarching assessment of the area, integrated into psychology more widely." Angela Clow, University of Westminster, UK "This is an exceptional book that synthesizes more than a decade of positive psychology research into chapters that are engaging, accessible, and educational. Hefferon and Boniwell demonstrate a mastery of the literature through the ways in which they have marshaled the evidence from research and practice into this invaluable resource. This book will become an essential reference guide for researchers, educators and practitioners of positive psychology around the world." Professor Alex Linley, Founding Director, Capp "This book is a valuable resource for students looking for an introduction to Positive Psychology, but also wanting to get a comprehensive and updated overview of this innovative approach to the study of human behaviour and experience. It provides a broad coverage of the most relevant theories and constructs developed within Positive Psychology, and of their relevance for intervention and application in the most diverse life domains. Hefferon and Boniwell use a rigorous though accessible and friendly style of presentation. By means of effective learning supports, they stimulate readers'' active engagement in critical reflections on each topic. The authors address the several issues and open questions which still characterize Positive Psychology as a relatively recent domain through a balanced and objective approach." Antonella Delle Fave, University of Milano, Italy "Kate Hefferon and Ilona Boniwell have produced the first textbook which has set out purposefully to support students and teachers in higher education in the exciting new area of positive psychology. The authors have experience of teaching the lectures described in each chapter and the book is written in a way that students will find engaging and fun. Each chapter has clear learning objectives, mock essay questions, measurement tools, summaries and a guide to further resources. The content has been well researched and the early chapters cover the main concepts of positive psychology such as emotions, happiness, wellbeing, optimism, and resilience. The later chapters are more novel and cover interventions and applications all with a critical eye. Of particular note is the chapter on the body in positive psychology - a topic which is frequently omitted from the ''thoughts and feelings'' approach of other texts in this area. I would strongly recommend this book to all students and teachers of psychology." Nanette Mutrie, Professor of Exercise and Sport Psychology, Strathclyde University, UK "The text is well written, clear and engaging making it an invaluable resource to those seeking an introductory text or for a more comprehensive coverage of the applications of positive psychology. I would highly recommend this text to all students and higher education lecturers studying or teaching the psychology of happiness and wellbeing." Charlotte Taylor, Research Assistant, University of Worcester, UK "The authors utilise their own multidisciplinary experiences in the field of psychology in an endeavour to provide an effective textbook to accompany university level courses on Positive Psychology, an endeavour which appears to have been accomplished with a high degree of success." Steven Southworth, Postgraduate Psychology student, University of Essex, UK Discover the latest research findings and thinking on the topics of happiness, flow, optimism, motivation, character strengths, love and more! Find out how happiness levels can be increased, what stops us from flourishing and how positive psychology can be applied to many professional disciplines. This new textbook combines a breadth of information about positive psychology with reflective questions, critical commentary and up to date research. It is written in a witty, engaging and contemporary manner and includes: Personal development exercises to help you meld together research and application Mock essay questions to get essay writing going Think about it boxes to get you thinking about the concepts and theories discussed Experiments boxes giving you most influential positive psychology experiments to date Suggested resources guiding you where to go next Measurement tools presenting popular positive psychology tools Time out boxes on key issues, concepts and thinkers Chapter summaries to help you check their understanding Review questions to enhance your learning Positive Psychology is key reading for students taking modules in positive psychology and well-being, and will also be of interest to students of applied, coaching and sports psychology, as well as psychologists, coaches, counsellors and researchers interested in this burgeoning field.
Does happiness matter? What are happy people like? Can people enhance their sense of well-being? One of the most important movements in psychology during the past two decades, positive psychology is a discipline that seeks to understand the factors that contribute the most to a well lived and fulfilling life. Written by a highly respected scholar and educator of positive psychology, this is a concise, accessible introduction to this popular field of study. Appropriate for anyone seeking an introduction to positive psychology and an ideal brief text for relevant college courses, this book surveys the origins and current state of what is known about this evolving field. It places a particular emphasis on well-being as the leading edge of positive psychology research and practice. The text encompasses the key theories and current research supporting positive psychology, and discusses its three ipillarsi subjective well-being and positive emotions, psychological traits, and positive institutions. It introduces the foundational concepts underlying positive psychology and describes the specific strengths and virtues upon which it focuses. Woven throughout is the premise that gratitude matters to oneis happiness. The heart of the book explores such major questions as: What is happiness? How do oneis circumstances impact happiness? What are the traits of well-being? Are relationships important to happiness? With a nod to the expanding parameters of human interactions today, the text examines the impact of electronic relationships on well-being. It also discusses and responds to the most significant criticisms of the positive psychology movement and helps readers to understand how the science of positive psychology can enhance their own well-being. Insights into the past and future of positive psychology conclude this thoughtful text. Key Features: Addresses the origins and major tenets of positive psychology Provides a concise and accessible introduction ideal for college courses and seminars Emphasizes well-being as the leading edge of positive psychology research and practice Helps readers understand how positive psychology can help them enhance their own well-being Written by a noted scholar and educator of positive psychology
As positive psychology continues to make leaps and bounds in terms of scientific advancement, the focus on the importance of the body within optimal functioning is still lagging. Positive Psychology and the Body provides a critical reflection on this omission, highlighting the mounting corpus of scientific research completed on the physical mechanisms which assist either momentary experiences of pleasure or longer-lasting feelings of meaning and self development. Indispensable reading for students of well-being, positive psychology and sports psychology, the book spans topics such as physical activity, genetics, interpersonal touch, positive sexual behaviours, nutrition and many more. Those studying and researching coaching, health, clinical psychology and counselling psychology will also find the book valuable reading. With contributions from Angela Clow and Michael Pluess. "Finally, an author has addressed the white elephant in the room: the human body. Arguably one of the most important aspects of the self the body has long been overlooked by positive psychologists as a serious point of study. This book has it all: from sex to genetics to illness Hefferon brings an expert review of research, clear advice and fresh thinking." Dr. Robert Biswas-Diener, Managing Director, Positive Acorn, LLC "With this fine textbook, Positive Psychology expands its scope considerably, to include new and important perspectives from the very foundation of any psyche: the body. Indeed, we may argue that as much as any organ, the psyche is part of the body, if certainly still very strangely so. Kate Hefferon with her colleagues are to be strongly applauded for making new understandings of the mind-body-unity so accessible to students and everyone else interested in this fascinating topic." Hans Henrik Knoop, Aarhus University, Denmark and President, European Network for Positive Psychology "In a field - positive psychology - overcrowded with simplistic treatments of happiness and the good life, Kate Hefferon has put together a truly original book. By linking principles of positive psychology with the body, Hefferon brings to light the need for a more holistic approach to the good life, one that honors the reality that we carry out this project called "life" tethered to this world through our bodies. Anybody interested in a more grounded positive psychology should read this book." Corey L. M. Keyes, Professor of Sociology, Emory University, USA "In showing the relevance of positive psychology to sexuality, nutrition, health and physical activity Kate Hefferon pushes the boundaries of positive psychology into new territory. Packed with ideas that we can apply in our own lives, students and others interested in positive psychology will find this book an excellent introduction. Well worth the time to read." Stephen Joseph, author of What Doesn't Kill Us: The New Psychology of Posttraumatic Growth
"The best general introduction to positive psychology available." Dr Alex Linley, University of Leicester, UK "Dr Ilona Boniwell is recognized as Europe's leading researcher, innovator and thinker in the expanding world of positive psychology. Positive Psychology in a Nutshell offers something for everyone with an interest in discovering how to live optimally. This brilliant littlebook is packed with scientific evidence identifying the key ingredients that help to create a happy life. Read it and learn how to change yours for the better." Dr Cecilia d'Felice, Consultant Psychologist, Author and Columnist for The Times and The Metro "Positive Psychology in a Nutshell is a little gem of a book, beautifully and engagingly written, and having the marks of a cogent teacher who has mastered the contemporary structure, bounds and outreach of her field. This is a 'must read', and a welcome antidote for all thoseengaged in the caring professions." Richard Whitfield, Human Development Specialist, Educator, Poet and Chairman of Trustees of the Face-to-Face Trust "As good an introduction to positive psychology as you can read. A must-read book for all those involved in the education and health industries." Dr Anthony Seldon, Master, Wellington College, Berkshire, UK "Positive Psychology in a Nutshell is a comprehensive, user friendly, thoughtful introduction and critique of the field. Simply put, it is the best overview out there that can be read in a couple of sittings. Those with no psychology background find it fascinating and informative; those with serious credentials find it to be a credible overview and critique of the field." Dr Carol Kauffman, Co-founder and Director of the Coaching and Positive Psychology Initiative, Harvard Medical School, USA "In a nutshell, I could scarcely put down this intelligent, balanced and irresistible introduction to positive psychology!" Dr Sean Cameron, Co-Director, Practitioner Doctorate in Educational Psychology, University College London, UK "It is very readable, seductively so, and is no doubt as good an introduction to the subject as you can get ... Emotional wellbeing is complex and there are useful insights here to shore up the flabby phrases tossed around by politicians ... There are some parts of this book I will use and anyone who wants to find out about positive psychology should start here." Mike Shooter is a child psychiatrist and President of BACP, UK When you hear the words 'positive psychology' or 'the science of well-being', do you wonder what it's all about? 'What makes us fulfilled?' and 'Is happiness necessary for a good life?' Discover the latest thinking on the topics of happiness, flow, optimism, motivation, character strengths and love, and learn how to apply it to your life. Ilona Boniwell presents an engaging overview of the science of optimal functioning and well-being, which combines real readability with a broad academic base applied to day-to-day life. Now fully updated and enhanced with new material on how to: Change your mindset Practice mindfulness Develop better resilience Enhance your well-being at work Adopt positive leadership Introducing positive psychology in a friendly, straightforward way, this international bestseller is peppered with many simple tools and tips for daily living that will help you love your life.
Positive Psychology has experienced extraordinary growth over the past decade. Emerging research in this area is suggesting new strategies for improving everyday life, healthcare, education systems, organizations and work life, and societies across the globe. This book will be of interest to all applied psychologists, applied researchers, social and organizational psychologists, and anyone interested in applying the science of positive psychology to improvement of the human condition.