Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Borrowing Privileges and User Groups

Information on different user groups at EKU Libraries, borrowing privileges, and information on overdue and lost or damaged books.

Borrowing Privileges - EKU Current Students

  ID Required Main Collection Loan Period Media Collection Loan Period Popular Collection Loan Period New Books Periodical Loan Period Materials Limit Database Access Library Express (document delivery, interlibrary loan) Access

EKU Graduate Student

Colonel 1 Card 6 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 6 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes

EKU Honors Student

Colonel 1 Card 6 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 6 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes
EKU Undergraduate Student Colonel 1 Card  4 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 4 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes

EKU Distance & Online Only Student

  6 weeks 3 weeks 4 weeks 6 weeks 4 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes

 

Borrowing Privileges - EKU Faculty and Staff

  ID Required Main Collection Loan Period Media Collection Loan Period Popular Collection Loan Period New Books Periodical Loan Period Materials Limit Database Access Library Express (document delivery, interlibrary loan) Access
EKU Faculty/Staff EKU ID 18 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 18 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes
EKU Retired Faculty/Staff EKU ID 18 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 18 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited n/a n/a

 

Borrowing Privileges - Other Groups

 

ID

Required

Main Collection Loan Period Media Collection Loan Period Popular Collection Loan Period New Books Periodical Loan Period Materials Limit Database Access Library Express (document delivery, interlibrary loan) Access

EKU Alumni

 

Alumni Borrowers are subject to non-university borrower guidelines. 4 weeks n/a 2 weeks 4 weeks n/a 5 books Limited, see guidelines n/a

EKU Faculty/

Staff/

Spouse/

Domestic

Partner

 

Spouse and partner borrowers are subject to these guidelines. 6 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 6 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited n/a n/a

Other Kentucky Colleges and Universities (FoKAL Borrowers)

FoKAL borrowers are subject to these guidelines.   n/a     n/a   n/a n/a

Friends of the Libraries

 

Friends of the Libraries are subject to these guidelines. Read more about becoming a Friend! 4 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 4 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited n/a n/a

Visiting Scholar

 

 

 

Current Institution ID

 

All Visiting Scholar privileges must be approved by the Dean of Libraries.

18 Weeks 1 week 2 weeks 18 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited Yes Yes

Non-University Borrowers

 

Non-University Borrowers are subject to non-university borrower guidelines.

 

 

2 weeks n/a 2 weeks 2 weeks n/a 5 books n/a n/a
Upward Bound Student EKU ID 4 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 4 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited    

Model Students and Children of EKU Employees

 

Model Laboratory School students and children of EKU employees between 8th grade and 18 years of age may obtain EKU library borrowing privileges.The student must complete the EKU Libraries Application for Non-University Students Library Card and a parent or legal guardian of the student must sign the application before borrowing privileges are granted. To apply for a card, please visit the library. The application is linked below. 

4 weeks 1 week 2 weeks 4 weeks 2 weeks Unlimited n/a n/a

 

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University