Searching Multiple & Individual Databases

Social Work can often require research in a variety of fields.  Sometimes it is the best option to search as widely as possible instead of focusing on just one database.  Here are are two short tutorials on how to search the entire EKU Libraries collection.

Search Multiple Databases

Search by Topic in the Library Search

 

Occasionally it may be necessary to search individual databases to focus a search or explore a single discipline. View this short tutorial to learn how to navigate and select individual databases to match your research needs.

Search Individual Databases

Social Work Databases

These databases all contain articles relating to Social Work. This is not an exhaustive list, and remember, Social Work is multidisciplinary field, and  you will need to call upon various other fields to inform your work.  You will often be researching in other fields such as Psychology, Sociology and Health Sciences, just to name a few

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a broad, expansive database including full text coverage of nearly every area of academic study.
  • JSTOR
    Includes extensive online journal backfiles for a wide range of disciplines.
  • PsycARTICLES
    Includes full text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, including those relating to Social Work topic
  • PsychINFO  A comprehensive, international database covering the academic, research and practice literature in over 1,900 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  Search SSCI to find articles that have been cited by researchers.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
    Includes abstracts in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Social Work Abstracts  
    Provides abstracts for more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977.

Evaluating Information

Evaluating Information

Use the criteria in the boxes below to review the information you are evaluating.

A high quality source with quality information will enable you to answer MOST of the questions in each box with a "YES."

Accuracy –Content is grammatically correct, verifiable and cited when necessary: Is the content grammatically correct?; Is the information accurate and verifiable?; Are sources and references cited?; Does the tone and style imply accuracy? Author – Defines  who created the content,  the individual or group's credentials/expertise and provides contact information: Do you know who published the source?;  Is the author's name easily visible?; What are the author's credentials and are they appropriate for the information provided?; Can you find contact information?; Is the source produced by a reputable organization? Currency – Information is current and updated frequently: Do you know when the information was originally published and is the date acceptable?; Do you know when the information was last updated and is the date acceptable?; Are web  links current and reliable?; Do charts and graphs have dates? Fairness– Content is balanced, presenting all sides of an issue and multiple points-of-view: Are various points-of-view presented?; Is the source free of bias towards one point-of-view?; Is the objectivity of the source consistent with its purpose?; Is the source free of advertising? Relevance – Content is relevant to your topic or research: Does the purpose of the source (e.g. research, statistical, organizational) meet your needs?; Who is the intended audience? Will information directed to this audience meet your needs?; Is the information relevant to your research topic?

Best Databases for Related Disciplines

What is Peer Review? Why is it so important?

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University