Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About Us

2014 Library Undergraduate Research Award Presented

Betina Gardner and Kathline Hartch

EKU Libraries presented the first Library Undergraduate Research Award (UGRA) at the 2014 University Scholars Assembly.  The Award, made possible by the Friends of EKU Libraries, recognizes students whose research makes expert and creative use of library services, resources, and collections to produce a scholarly or creative work.  Dr. Kevin Jones, UGRA Committee Chair, says: “The Award is a wonderful opportunity to showcase the excellence of undergraduate research here at Eastern, as well as EKU Libraries’ contribution to that research.”

Kathline Hartch won the $1,000 first place prize for her project, The Dodd-Frank Act.  Hartch, who put education on hold to raise her children before coming to EKU, changed her major to Economics during the research process.  Phillip Kyles and Samuel Shearer each received $350 for The Effects of Hyperhomocysteinemia on Vascular Disease and Truman Smith’s Reports on Nazi Militarism: A Study of Domestic Political Priorities and U.S. Foreign Policy-Making in Franklin Roosevelt’s First and Second Terms, respectively.

EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
© 2020 All rights reserved Eastern Kentucky University