The purpose of this document is to elucidate EKU Libraries’ collection management policies. Collection management includes: the selection of resources for access or purchase; the evaluation of gifts; and the repair, replacement, or deselection of damaged, obsolete, or missing materials.
EKU Libraries utilize Demand Driven Acquisitions (DDA) to select materials. With DDA, items are purchased at the point of need, rather than selected and purchased based on anticipated need. This is also referred to as buying “just in time” instead of “just in case.” An integral part of this process is Library Express, which facilitates the purchase of books that are requested and supplements the collections by providing Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services for materials outside of the collection scope.
Each collection has slightly different collecting priorities. Here are the highlights:
The Main (Crabbe Library) collection includes a variety of resources that serve the general research and curricular needs of our primary user community (undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty). It also contains general information sources and recreational reading materials to encourage lifelong learning and literacy.
Our selection is primarily driven via user requests, but not all materials requested are appropriate to purchase for the collection.
In general, the following criteria are used to evaluate library materials for acquisition, replacement, cancellation, or withdrawal:
The Library does not generally add the following to the collection:
SCA features unique collections of Kentucky-related manuscripts, books, films, photographs, maps, digitized materials, and sound recordings. SCA preserves and makes accessible selected historical resources relating to EKU and its service region. It also houses EKU’s official University Records as well as the William H. Berge Oral History Center. SCA’s full collection development policy includes more detailed information.
The LRC supports the curriculum of EKU’s College of Education including current, high-quality instructional materials appropriate for preschool through grade twelve (P-12), as well as professional and practical materials for teachers. Priority is given to items which most directly support coursework that prepares students to meet the requirements of education degrees and credentials. The LRC also collects award-winning, honor, notable and starred review books appropriate for P-12 students.
The Law Library subscribes to both print and online legal resources in support of EKU's Paralegal program. The collections consists of case reporters, federal and state statutes, legal encyclopedias, and legal treatises.
The Business Library supports the College of Business and Technology curricula. Collections include a selective collection of popular business books and magazines, a small print reference collection, and a rotating display of other selected business books.
The Music Library contains thousands of books, scores, recordings, videos, and periodicals in support of the School of Music curricula.
Generally, electronic formats (eJournals, eBooks, and streaming videos) are preferred because they serve all users regardless of time or location, are keyword searchable, and allow for multiple simultaneous user access. Pricing, availability, and license restrictions can hinder this preference.
In this document, a “textbook” is defined as a book published for the academic market, often in multiple editions, and usually including pedagogical features such as exercises, learning objectives, and supplementary material.
Collection funds are not typically used to purchase textbooks for the following reasons:
The Libraries collect a limited number of textbooks that are placed on reserve to support student success in the classroom, especially at the beginning of a term when books may be unavailable or on back order. Students and faculty members may help us build this collection by donating extra copies of textbooks at the Main Library Help Desk.
Supplementary course-specific works on required reading lists (such as novels and other scholarly works that are not textbooks) may be placed on reserve at the request of faculty or when discovered by library staff that they are required in order to provide more access and protect the item.
If the title has a history of use and continues to meet current selection and evaluation criteria then damaged materials will be repaired if possible. Replacement copies or similar titles may be sought for materials deemed missing, stolen, lost, or damaged beyond repair if the material shows evidence of consistent usage.
Books that no longer meet selection criteria will be deselected to keep the collection current. Different subject areas have different criteria - for example, a 15 year old nursing book might be deselected, whereas history books are not deselected based on age. Deselected books (including both gifts and purchased items) may be sent to Better World Books, recycled, or donated to other state libraries in the region.
EKU Libraries accept donations of materials that support the teaching and research needs of the University community, in accordance with the following guidelines:
EO/AA Statement | Privacy Statement | 103 Libraries Complex Crabbe Library Richmond, KY 40475 | (859) 622-1790
©
