The listings below cover faculty positions and, occasionally, classified positions. Please visit Eastern Kentucky University's Human Resources site for possible additional library employment/student employment opportunities.
Collection Strategies Librarian
Eastern Kentucky University Libraries seek a collaborative and flexible Collection Strategies Librarian to contribute enthusiasm, expertise, and strategic insight to the shared work of building and curating collections that support the curricular priorities of EKU.
Reporting to the Director of Collections and Discovery, and working closely with the Metadata and Discovery Librarian, the successful candidate for this position will manage a team of faculty, staff, and student employees who are responsible for selection and maintenance of purchased, subscribed, and borrowed resources, and for the curation of open access resources.
- Manage processes related to the collection development lifecycle for eResources - trials, new purchases, renewals, and cancellations.
- Supervise the Scholarly Communications Librarian and the Library Express Team (PDA, Interlibrary Loan, and Document Delivery).
- Maintain knowledge of current national and international interlibrary loan codes and best practices, and monitor emerging trends that affect interlibrary loan services.
- Maintain awareness of current and evolving scholarly communications trends as they relate to inter-institutional resource sharing and ILL and document delivery services.
- As a library liaison: promote or provide library instruction, services, and resources to students and faculty in assigned academic departments; provide virtual and/or face to face help desk coverage; and provide research consultations and appointments to students and faculty.
- Participate in service activities that contribute to the operations and shared governance of the library, contributions that further the goals of the institution, and/or contributions to professional organizations.
- Participate in scholarship: research, writing, and/or presentations.
- ALA-accredited Master's Degree in Library and/or Information Science
- At least one year collection development and/or resource sharing experience in an academic environment.
- At least one year successful supervisory experience
- Demonstrated experience utilizing organizational, problem-solving, and time-management skills to effectively balance multiple assignments and projects.
- Strong service orientation.
- Ability to build collaborative and mutually beneficial working relationships with people of varying backgrounds.
- Openness to change and ability to lead change.
- Working knowledge of OCLC's ILLiad and Odyssey systems.
- Experience with best practices in collection management and resource sharing, using tools such as integrated library systems, digital repositories, COUNTER, SUSHI.
- Demonstrated experience with data analysis in a library environment.
- Evidence of service and scholarship.
Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) is a regional comprehensive university, primarily serving the Eastern half of the Commonwealth. Its 15,000 students come from a variety of backgrounds. In the graduating class of 2020, 43% of the students were Pell eligible and 39% were First Generation students. EKU prides itself on being a school of opportunity.
As such, EKU Libraries value diversity of thought, perspective, experience and people, and strive to overcome historical and divisive biases in our society by building a culture of inclusion and respect for our patrons and colleagues. All positions are called on to contribute to building this environment in the Libraries and throughout the campus community, and we encourage candidates to apply who share these values.
With a relatively modest collections budget of 1.6 million dollars and combined print and electronic holdings of around a million titles, EKU Libraries focus on maximizing resources by providing just in time access with patron driven acquisitions strategies. The Collections and Discovery Division currently includes 5 librarians and 6 full time staff members to manage all collection development, acquisitions, cataloging, resource management, interlibrary loan, document delivery, and scholarly communication functions. We have to be flexible, nimble, and change oriented to keep up with the rapidly changing environments in both publishing and higher education. We foster a culture of design thinking, experimentation, and cross-library collaboration that is focused on the user experience.
Salary and Rank
Salary is commensurate with credentials and experience. This is a 12-month, non-tenure track faculty position, with 22 days annual vacation plus sick leave and other benefits. Learn more about our benefits.
Eastern Kentucky University is an Equal Opportunity, Affirmative Action employer that recruits and hires qualified candidates without regard to race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, disability or veteran status. For more information, visit equity.eku.edu.
Review of Applications begins August 3. Position open until filled. Visit https://jobs.eku.edu/postings/14471.